Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Ashley Mae

Personal Details

Reference # 201-3009
Name Ashley Mae
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? If No, please click here to take part in a course near you. Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyhundai Accent
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happened No
How long have you been driving for?2 years

Education

Secondary EducationMatric - Durban St Marys 2006 I matriculated
Tertiary EducationUCT 2007 - 6 months
First aid Training(If no, please fill in the application form for the course byclicking here, we cannot register you if have not done or do not complete a first aid course)Yes
Other trainingICDL - computer course 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2007 September - Current 
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?2 children James 6 and 9
What were your duties?Done homework and house sitting as well. I used to look after James the little boy we would do homework together and keep them entertained. I would assist in the holidays as well. We would make play dough. We play allot of memory games together.
Your comments on the experience with this positionI really enjoyed it very much,

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSince I was very young on and off
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Two girls twins 15 years old 
What were your duties?General care, from waking up and putting to bed, Grace used to go away allot and I would take soul care for the two girls at the time.Help with homework and keep them entertained.
Your comments on the experience with this positionIt was absolutely fun, I really enjoyed this position

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2008 - current
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Fiona little girl age 3 , Olivia new born
What were your duties?When my sister could not babysit I would fill in for her, I would put Fiona to sleep, Cathy would call me during the week to play at least two hours a week with Fiona, We would play allot of games together. I assist two hours in the morning in the holiday, I would prepare games and snacks for them. We do allot of educational games together   
Your comments on the experience with this positionIts absolutely great, I love the girls. 

Reference 4:


Reference 5:


Reference 6:


Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availability Cape Town
Please state your accurate times of availabilityWorking full time (Nov 2012), not available for any positions.

Salary expectations

Full timeNeg
Part timeNeg

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? I am studying fashion design, I love that it is constantly stimulating, I enjoy the merchandising once i have finished my course I would like to take a gap year and go to Europe, I would like to gain some experience there and then come back to South Africa.  I would like to be a fashion buyer one day. In five years time I would like to see where South Africa goes. There are allot of opportunity.  
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started through Deidre, I was waitress at the time, James was 4 at the time Myself and James really got on very well, And then I started assisting them in January 2008. I like to grow from children. And I would like a change
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 years old old - Olivia baby of 6 months old 
What activities are you involved in?I am very athletic and enjoy being out doors
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy going to the movies, I enjoy Cape Town I am actually come from Durban, I enjoy looking at the sunset. 
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I enjoy watching children grow, 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I find that I prosper from being around children as I learn as much from them as they do from me and they stimulate me as I watch them
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the situation, I would contact the emergency first and then Deidre.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Catherine had a tantrum, we were all playing a game, I left her in the room and explain to her that we are having fun together myself and James. 
What is your approach to discipline? I follow the parents rules on how to discipline their child 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would ignore it and make sure she is safe and check up on her all the time   
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would tell them that it is very pretty, but then explain that it is not the right thing to do, I would then help them clean it up. I would then give them paper and crayon and explain that this is the right thing to do.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain that the homework has to be done, I would remove privileges. I would bargain with them, Also try and make it as fun as possible.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with any ages really.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones? Yes
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they? No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I sometimes talk too much, I enjoy being on the go and being outdoors and active, I am very easy and outgoing, I have set ways about my life.I love having fun, I love living life and I want to live it till the fullest.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats with banana and strawberries ( winter breakfast) & Fruit and yogurt
LunchChicken salad or whole wheat sandwich
DinnerRoasted veggies, Chicken pie or Mac and Cheese
SnackPro vita and fruit or yogurt or apple / Raisins or nuts and yogurts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I don't eat red meat and fish
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents got divorced when I was in Matric. I have a close relationship with both them. I have one sister who is older than me. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.