Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Kathy

Personal Details

Reference # 201-2997
Name Kathy
Nationality South african
Age 55
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)1991Citi Golf
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?27 years

Education

Secondary EducationMatric O level
Tertiary Education2 year secretarial Dipolma and Beauty therapy course in Johannesburg
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingDaycare Center that I owned and it had to be closed down June 2007 - May 2008
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 months old when he first started at the day care center
What were your duties?I would give them breakfast, then have a nap from 9 - 9:45 stimulation with various activities: i.e the play gym, prepared snacks and took him for walks, educational games. Prepared cooked meals. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2008 Ad hoc basis
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Alexander 16 months, Telita 3 months old
What were your duties?Serve them breakfast, take Alexander for a walk, I taught him a very good vocabulary, done allot of music and movement with him. Used to take him to the moms and tots workshop, playing outside, preparing his lunches, and sleep training. Lots of activities take them to the butterfly world taking them to the zoo. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2008 - current
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?4 children, 9 months, 3 years, 9 months, 11
What were your duties?Doing allot of babysitting,bath the little ones, give them dinner, put the little one to bed, The little one had asthma and he had to be on the Nebulizer.  When the parents went away I would prepare dinner and breakfast from the morning to the evenings. Take them to school and to extra murals, do homework with them do baking with them. The older boys used to help me. Take them to places like jimmy jungles
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got retrenched from the spur, I could not get a job in hospitality(Talehassi spur in Somerset West), then I decided to start with the day care because I could not find other work
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 months old, (Telita baby girl)
What activities are you involved in?I do yoga and Pilate, I go to Art classes. I am a member of the play house theatre I do the make up
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I try and draw and paint and help out at the theatre. I also try and go to the gym as much as possible.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I like interacting with children, depending on the age, with babies I like to stimulate them, the different mile stones, Helping the mothers with their babies, the older children, I enjoy spending time with them
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love outdoor activities for younger children I like throwing the balls, swimming and taking them out to parks etc.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I always make sure I know their medical aid details, I would rush them straight to the hospital then phone the parents
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Fransie and Arno was away I panicked and phoned the grandfather and applied a plaster to his head as he had bumped it open.
What is your approach to discipline?Please read Sitters4u article on the website.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would take them out of the situation and then let them calm down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take away the crayon from the child, and give the child a piece of paper to draw on and explain why it is wrong.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would give them time to play and then get them to do their homework, if that does not work I would then phone the parents
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age is fine
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Fransie and Dr. Els
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Michael is 16 and Cristine is 14
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very outgoing and friendly, energetic reliable and trustworthy
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal or rice krispies or oats or scrambled egg
LunchToasted sandwich, or omelet
DinnerVeggies and chicken or fish or meat
SnackFruit salad or cut up cheese or yoghurt or slice of bread with marmite or avocado or muffins or pancakes
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My dad is deceased and my mom lives with me, My brothers are in the UK and my sister lives in Australia

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.