Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nadia

Personal Details

Reference # 201-29863
Name Nadia
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st) English(1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai Atos 2010
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
Helpmekaar Collage (JHB) -2007
Tertiary Education

Garden Design - 2009

Early Childhood Development Degree through UNISA.

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started assisting the family in June 2009 until January 2013. Reason for leaving: Moved to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children Girl aged 9 and boy aged 11.
What were your duties?Occasionally I would fetch them in the morning. I would Picking up from school taking them to extra murals. I would do homework and projects prepare meals, occasional shopping doing fun activities during holiday. I would occasionally cook family dinners for them and I would normally finish at around 6 or 7pm. I would also assist with occasional babysitting services. We are very close. Never had issues and we are still in contact.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2012 until mid February 2013.  Reason for leaving: moving to Cape Town
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?12 kids, aged 3-5 years.
What were your duties?I was a teacher at Little Rascals Preschool from 7h00 to 13h00, Monday to Friday. I would serve the children breakfast, I would assist the small children to eat their food. They would have a short playtime. We would have circle time, and talk about the theme of the week. We would do general learning (alphabet, numbers, counting etc). We would do creative play and outside play. They would then come back inside and we would have story time. It then be lunch time and nap time. I was responsible for lesson planning. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI started assisting in mid February 2013. Reason for leaving: I have to find a job that pays a bit more because my expenses are more. I haven´t told her that I might be leaving yet.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 girls aged 8, 6, 3 and 1.
What were your duties?I am taking kids to school at around 7am. I fetch them from school at 1pm. I prepare lunch for them. We do homework and projects. I then take to extra murals. I bath the younger children. I occasionally serve dinner. I put the little one down for nap times. I finish up at 7pm. They are an Afrikaans family and we all get on really well. I enjoy working for the family, I just need to either supplement my income with a morning position or a full time position.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
 Part time
Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Over 4 years.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My ex boyfriend suggested that I try working with children. I did and loved it so much, I have decided to make a career out of caring for children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?My niece from birth. Professionally from 3 months.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I walk on the beach and hike. I love to be outdoors. I enjoy spending time with my family.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?What I like most is that children bring joy in my life. Being part in a child's life means a lot to me as I feel I can make a difference in child's life. I enjoy teaching them and having a positive impact on their lives.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Creative things and outdoor play.Painting, making things, I also really enjoy messy play.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If it is a medical emergency I would first control the emergency, ensure the child is stable, then call the ambulance and then the parents or I would take the child to the hospital.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The one child that I took care of fell and cut is hand open. I did all the things required of a first aider and then took him to the hospital.
What is your approach to discipline?I don't like shouting and don't. I use sticker/reward charts. I also talk things out with kids and try to let them understand why certain things are allowed or not.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?It depends on the child and what works for him and how the parents would want me to handle it. Some people believe in giving the child "Time out" some people believe that you have to leave the child so that he can get over the tantrum. I find that 1 to 2 minutes of quiet time helps.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell them that it is wrong an why they shouldn't do it again.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Convince them that it is the right thing to do homework and what would happen if they dont do homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age group.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Reinet Potgieter. I am currently au pairing.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very loving, happy, bubbly and caring. I am easy go lucky. I am a fun person to be around.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEnglish breakfast
Lunchtoasted sandwich or what ever you would like
DinnerSpaghetti and mince, chicken ala king.
SnackFruits, yoghurt.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My dad passed away in 2003. My mom is getting marries again in Sept. I have a step dad, and 3 step sisters. I have 2 brothers the oldest one has 2 girls and a new one on the way. I get on well with my family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.