Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Mia

Personal Details

Reference # 201-2974
Name Mia
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Daewoo Matiz
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedNo
How long have you been driving for?2 years

Education

Secondary EducationCambridge International Certificate of Secondary Education - 2009
Tertiary Education

Basic Childcare Course through Educare - 2009.

Studying for a performance degree in Classical Voice at the University of Cape Town -2012

First aid TrainingYes, First Aid and CPR Course through Educare 
Other trainingBasic childcare course

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2007 to February 2009 - the family moved
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy, aged 3 months
What were your duties?Changing nappies, putting baby to sleep, feeding, playing with her and comforting her.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary to March 2009 and on/off since April 2009
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Average 10 children aged 1 and 1/2 to 5 years
What were your duties?Helped with all activities, including playtime, snacktime, toilet training, singing and dancing.
Your comments on the experience with this positionIt was really great to see the children develop with the stimulating activities.  I also enjoyed working half-days only.

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2009 - 2010
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Children 1-9 years old.
What were your duties?Cooking, driving to extra-murals, bath-time, homework and music lessons. 
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving2012 - current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Children, aged 8-12 years old.
What were your duties?Driving, cooking and assisting with homework.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving2012 - current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?All ages
What were your duties?I volunteer at the Darling 'Voorkamer Festival' and at the Darling Trust Community Childhood Development Centre. Activities include assisting with music lessons and Educational Excursions.
  

Reference 6:

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?When my nephew was born I spent a lot of time with him. I was sixteen at the time and my sister-in-law asked me to babysit him often. I was doing home-schooling at the time, and found that I really enjoyed it and was very patient with the child. I cannot sit behind a desk from 9 - 5, au pairing really suits my personality, and I'd like to travel and I would like to au pair for different families and different age groups. I think that I will probably spend the rest of my life working with kids.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 months
What activities are you involved in?I love creative activities, especially music, movies, and the theater. I love people and always want to be around people.

What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do part time jobs when have time, these include house sitting and babysitting. Have registered with an au pair agency to do au pairing in America, but I can choose when I want to go. I want to gain some experience in South Africa first.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Playing and working with children is part of a growth process, both for the child and myself.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy sport activities, especially outdoors, and then follow that with indoor activities like drawing, and something creative or musical, or maybe watch a movie.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would first phone the parents, if the situation is very bad I would first phone an ambulance, I would also try to calm the child and first aid as I was trained.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I find it most difficult to handle a child that is sad when his/her parents leave. I usually try to distract him/her, and tell him/her that the parents will return.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in strict discipline, the child should be disciplined with words, explaining why things are wrong and should not be done. With very small kids you should have much more patience.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I'll take away the toy that the child wants and let him/her sit in the corner for about two minutes.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will tell the child that he/she cannot draw on the wall, and that we can draw a better picture on a piece of paper, if he/she does it a second time, I will discipline him/her.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will tell the child that I will close the child in the bedroom to do his/her homework. If he/she still refuses I will talk to the parents, for assistance. Or I will try to make the homework more fun.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3 months to 6 years (have most experience in this age group), but I want to gain experience with other age groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still work for Jungle Tots when needed.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am out-going, friendly, open-minded and musical. I love new things and the outdoors. I am an extrovert and love people and children. I like doing a variety of things and can take responsibility. I am also very independent.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, fruit and juice
LunchSandwich with ham and cheese
DinnerCooked meal, vegetables, starch and meat
SnackCrackers and dried fruit or fresh fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Normal
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have three brothers aged 21, 27 and 29. My mom is a music teacher and my dad works at Pretoria Technical as the Head of the Electronics Department. We are very open-minded and love people, culture and music. We are a very easy-going, close family. We like to get together as a family often.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.