Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Chene

Personal Details

Reference # 201-29726
Name Chene
Nationality South African
Age 25
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st ), English (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, Road worthy check in January 2013
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renault Clio 3
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2011

Education

Secondary EducationBcom Law, Unisa, 2nd year
Tertiary EducationMatric, Highschool Waterkloof, 2011
First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingIn 2012 for 6 months. I was only on a 6 months contract, and they only needed me to look after their daughter as she was put out of school for 6 months. She went back to school after 6 months.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Number of Children: 1 Gender: Female Age: 9 months old.
What were your duties?Looking after 9 month old baby who got sick and had to be taken out of daycare, cooking simple meals for her, tidying her room, putting toys away, playing with her, grocery shopping and running other errands for parents.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria East

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?1 year
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have a connection with children and love working with them. I worked for my mom's school for disabled children which really touched me.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 month old girl, named Eraruella.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I study Bcom law threw Unisa and I love playing tennis.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Caring for one another. Getting a special bond with the family and the child(seeing him/her as you´re brother or sister). Being able to teach them and also learn from them. And having someone to socialize with and care for. Watching them grow physically and emotionally.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Going to shopping malls. Going to parks. Going to their activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency, like a child breaking his/her arm?Firstly phone their parents and inform them what happened. I will make sure the child gets to the hospital immediately.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The 9 months old girl who I cared for fell very ill. The mother instructed me if she gets worst I must phone her and make sure that I keep her with me at all times until she arrives. I had to rush her to the hospital before the mother came home, though, because she had a very high fever. She moaned, her cheeks were very red, I measured her fever and it was over 38 degrees. That is when I knew I had take her to the hospital. I phoned the mother as soon as we arrived at the hospital. She was very grateful. 
What is your approach to discipline?It depends how the parents discipline their children and what they tell me to do in case discipline must be dealt with. Otherwise no corporal punishment, rather calm but firm communication.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?First remove the child from the area the tantrum is taking place. Try to find out what the problem is for causing the child to have a tantrum. Try and take his/her mind of the tantrum and try to keep him/her preoccupied with any stimulating activity, such as finger painting.  
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell him or her that walls are not for drawing, and then give him/her a piece of paper to draw on. Let him/her help clean the wall, and explain that they will have to clean it themselves every time they draw on the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?First establish the problem. Tell them that I will sit with them and help them, until they finish their homework. Reward them with a fun activity, such as watching a movie if their homework is done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?The age 0-12, but love working with teenagers as well.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I’m an energetic and motivated person who likes to socialize and meet new people. I’m a very organized person, who plans ahead in life. I enjoy working directly with people and I have a sense of understanding of the different personalities that people have. I’m driven to succeed and always aim to give my best at anything I do. In the next 10 years I would love to do some traveling and then I want to start my own law firm, and want to change the law regarding the legalization of abortion, as it is a very sensitive issue for me. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes. I love cooking.
BreakfastEggs, bacon, toast, and a cooked tomato.
LunchTomato and cheese sandwich, macaroni and cheese.
DinnerMeats, Fish, Pork. Basically any meat. Vegetables, mash, stirrfries, pasta.
SnackFruit salad.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mom, granny and aunt are teachers except my dad, who is a Financial Accountant for DWT Pumps (an international company). I have 2 sisters, one who is 15 months old and the other one 11 years old. I was raised in Pretoria . My mom currently runs a school for disabled children. We are all very close.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.