Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Wendy

Personal Details

Reference # 201-29725
Name Wendy
Nationality South african
Age 42
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English (1st) and Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Nissan Almera Sedan, white, 2008
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1999

Education

Secondary EducationLa Rochelle Girls High School  - 1995
Tertiary Education

Paarl College: Educare N4, N5, N6 - 1998 (awarded certificate of Merit)

First aid TrainingSave a Life Course Basic. Needs to be renewed.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2001 - 2012. Retrenched. The girls went to high school.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Twin girls, age 1 till to the age of 12
What were your duties?Running of the household. Lifting to and from school lunches, snacks homework supervision family shopping kids shopping,organizing of play dates,swimming lessons,any activities they do. I made sure they were there. Dealing with household staff. I also PA'd for her at one point.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSeptember 2013 to September 2014, their daughter is starting school and my service is no longer required.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 little girl from 5 months old.
What were your duties?I would start at 8am. I would provide breakfast, did a toilet routine, get dressed, sing songs and have a story. She would then have a nap. I would then change her diaper. Then she would have lunch. After lunch I would do outdoor activities with her. I would have a weekly theme and I incorporated this into play. We would then do some art, or play songs. She would then go down for another nap at about 16h30 and I would leave at around 17h30. I got on very well with the parents. We clicked immediately. I was very open with them and we used to sit for about 20 minutes and discuss her behavior every day. I will miss them very much.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been caring for children professionally since 1999.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?From the time I was small I was caring for children. I feel that I was born to care for children. I prefer a one on one environment. I enjoy seeing their development.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I sew and enjoy drawing. I love the outdoors. Walking and swimming.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy seeing them develop and find it rewarding when I can see the child has learnt something from me. I enjoy watching their personalities develop.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love arts and crafts, cooking, baking, doing puzzles together. I also love being outside and swimming.I also enjoy doing educational outings with them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I will try to calm the child, phone the parents and the doctor or emergency service. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?

I haven't really had any incidences I couldn't handle. 

What is your approach to discipline? I always sit down with the parents and discuss their views when I start a role in order to create consistency for the children.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would make sure the child is safe, and ignore the tantrum, or try to distract the child.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take the crayon away. Ask why he is doing it, explain it is not acceptable and he will have to clean the wall. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?

I would find out why, I would make sure the child is fed, and rested. I would try to bring the child's attention back to the homework and make it fun. I would incentivise the child with the promise of a fun activity after it is complete.

Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I enjoy babies most, but any age group is fine. 
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I have 2 daughters, born in 2005 and 2008.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am reliable, friendly, fun, bubbly at times but can be quiet. I am honest and open. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal with fruit or yoghurt
LunchLasagne
DinnerFish and mash with peas
SnackI would make cheese burritos, fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?I grew up in Malmesbury. My parents have been married for 41 years now. My dad is a chemical engineer lecturer and my mom a secretary at a law firm. I have an older sister and brother. I am the youngest. My sister has 3 kids, 2 sons and a daughter. My brother has 2 daughters and 1 son. We are a very close family. I spend a lot of time together. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.