Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tracy

Personal Details

Reference # 201-29354
Name Tracy
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai i10 1.25 2013
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedCrossing an intersection to join the queue of traffic and a lady hit the side of my vehicle. We were mutually at fault as she had the space to avoid me. (2009)
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
Table View High School - 2007
Tertiary Edcation
None
First aid TrainingYes, Renewing my first aid this weekend - July 2017

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2009 till present, I am still with them but they know I am seeking a position with more hours.. 
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?1 girl, 3 months when I started. She has just turned 4 years old.
What were your duties?When I started I I worked from 8h30am, I would give her breakfast bottle, we'd go for a walk, we would play and stimulation, give her lunch. I would put her down for a nap. Now She is in Kindergarden so I fetch her from school. I bring her home, give her a snack, then we have some play time and usually I assist with bathing and getting her to bed. My responsibilities have included giving bottles, changing nappies, reading to her, cleaning her bottles, making sure her room is tidy, taking her for walks, appropriate stimulation, heating her lunch when it became applicable or preparing lunch, for example, fish fingers, or pasta with sauce, etc, fetching from kindergarten when it became applicable, supervising play dates when it became applicable. I have an amazing relationship with the family. I can be open and honest with them, I assist in managing their businesses when they are away in Austria.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI have been assisting them since March 2010 casually with babysitting and in an au pairing capacity March 2011. I am still assisting occasionally assisting them in the afternoons. 
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?2 girls, ages 2 years and new born when I started.
What were your duties?When I started I would arrive in the afternoons, we would go for outing, I assisted with potty training, preparing snacks and providing entertainment to the older child. The gran was there for the first 2 months of the younger girl's life so I then took over her care at that point. I started working in the mornings for them as well. She was quite colic and preferred being held a lot. My duties included changing diapers, feeding, preparing bottles, tidying up, entertaining and providing stimulation. I would occasionally do lifting for them, and outings. I love this family, we get on really well. Our personalities gel well. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving7 weeks between January and February 2011 and again in 2012.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?1 girl, 6 months old the first time and 18 months the second time.
What were your duties?The first time I was responsible for feeding her, changing diapers, she would come with to my other au pairing jobs, I would take her on outings, I assisted in getting her onto solids while she was down here. Then in 2012, I also assisted in prepping meals bath time, entertaining her and doing outings. Her mom is a professional wind surfer so my times would vary greatly depending on when the wind was good for surfing. I get on very well with Lucy. We stay in touch. She was supposed to come back this year again but has moved to Spain.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary and February 2012, while the family visited Cape Town.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?1 girl age 6 months.
What were your duties?I had her for about 4 hours at a time, 2 to 3 times a week, she would come with to my other au pairing job, I was responsible for changing diapers, feeding her, entertaining her and providing appropriate stimulation, playing games, occasionally bathing her and putting her to bed. I got on very well with Sam and loved assisting the family.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2008  until November 2009 
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?two boys, when I started the oldest was 14 months and then she had her second child in November 2008.
What were your duties?Originally I was assisting two mornings a week and later moved to the afternoons. My duties included feeding, changing diapers, entertaining, putting the children down for naps, bath time(occasionally) taking the children for outings, to the beach, the park and library, taking the children for walks. I really enjoyed working for this family. I got on with Jeanine very well. I still see them occasionally and we get on well. 
  

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leavingNovember 2007 - November 2008. I started working for Jeanine.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?2 children, a girl age 13 years old and a boy age 8 years old.
What were your duties?My duties were to fetch the children from school, bring them home, assist with homework, make them lunch and provide them with entertainment. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved in childcare consistently since the end of 2007.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved babies and children. I got into au pairing after leaving school. I had a friend whose boss knew someone who needed an au pair to fetch her kids from school. Babies are my passion though, I love caring for them and helping them grow and develop.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy ballroom dancing, reading and walking. I already do extra babysitting and I enjoy what I do.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love being responsible for a child, helping them grow and thrive, seeing the relationship that will develop from caring for the child. It´s so fulfilling being a part of their life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Taking them for walks, drawing with them, going on outings (to the beach, aquarium ect), reading to them, building blocks or lego.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In a serious emergency that I am unable to deal with myself I would contact the parents and emergency services and perform first aid if necessary.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Tantrums have probably been the most difficult situation I've encountered and I've found ignoring the tantrum works best.
What is your approach to discipline?I take my cues from the parents, discipline has to come from a united front, but I've found time out to work well.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would ignore the tantrum, or try to distract the child by being interested in a toy or game on the other side of the room.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would ask the child to stop, if they didn't listen I would take the pen or crayon away and try to talk to them about it, otherwise put them into time out after explaining why they shouldn't draw on the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain to them why they need to do their homework and if necessary take away certain privileges if they don´t listen.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Babies ie: 0-1. But I do enjoy growing with the child and continuing to look after them once they are older. I just prefer to start with them when they are babies.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I do, I am currently working for Constanze Gehmacher and Silvana Cretu.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I have no children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs and toast
LunchSandwiches
DinnerChicken and vegetable stir-fry.
SnackFruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, although I can cook at home, I don´t have much confidence cooking for other people.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents are divorced, I have 2 younger siblings (boy 21, girl 16). My mom is a dancing teacher and my dad is an engineer at Koeberg Power station. My brother is studying chartered accountancy and my sister is in grade 11. I get on very well with my sister, but not always with my brother.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.