Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Natasha

Personal Details

Reference # 201-29337
Name Natasha
Nationality South African
Age 45
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st) Afrikaans(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Chevrolet spark 2005 bright green
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?October 1998

Education

Secondary Education
Alexander Sinton High School - 2003
Tertiary Education

Dress designing- Catherine School of dress design Educare - year 1991 - 1993

Educare course which included - Childcare and first aid course Basic computer course and nutrition and development for babies and children - December 2008.

First aid Traininglast first aid certificate expired in 2011. Have to sign up for a new one.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingOctober 2012 - February 2013. I started because the mom was diagnosed with bipolar and seeing a doctor. So they needed my assistance until she was better and taking her medication. I left because the mom was able to care for all her children.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Three girls: Maggie 11, Hannah 10 (special needs daughter) and Tara 13
What were your duties?

I was mainly required to care for Hannah as she had special needs. She had a speech impairment and I was required to drive her to therapy each day as well as school.

A normal day would consist of me arriving in the morning, packing their lunches and dropping Hannah at school, sometimes the other two girls as well. in the afternoon I would fetch Hannah from school and drop her at Occupational Therapy and Speech Therapy. After I would drop her home, sometimes prepare lunch/snack. Occasionally I would fetch Maggie from school and also assist her with homework. in the evenings I would feed them supper and assist with bathing. Tara did not need any assistance as she was older.

  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFrom November 2010 - April 2012. I left because the family no longer needed me.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I child, female Kira. 4 months when I started - 1 year 8 months when I left.
What were your duties?

Feeding, changing nappies, bathing and putting to bed, educating through nursery aid and songs. When she was older I taught her through an Educational Practice Box.I created and followed an educational program. I would take her to Moms and Tots, Gymboree, Clamber Club, Monkey Music and swimming lessons.

I also traveled with the family and had to take care of her as well

  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving1 May 2008 - October 2010. I left because the parents could manage with the kids on their own. Julian was diagnosed with Bipolar so she needed assistance with kids and getting back on track.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children: Female: Hannah 7 years old and Male: Gabriel 4 years old
What were your duties?Feeding, bathing, entertaining, driving to and from school and taking them on outings.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving1 March 2004 - December 2007. It was a mutual agreement for me to leave as the family and I were relocating at the same time.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 child, female Tamsin 2.5 years old when I started and when I left she was 5 years old.
What were your duties?Keeping her entertained and happy, feeding her at meal times, taking her outdoors, bathing and putting her to bed.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I went to Holland, which was my first au pair experience. I felt very at home there and found my calling. I really loved it.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 months old.
What activities are you involved in?I go to the gym and I belong to a cycling club. I am an active person.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do sowing, such as sowing costumes for a number of schools and also making baby clothes.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I like the fact that we can educate children. Because everything is new to them we are able to teach them about the things they don't know about.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children? I love doing arts and crafts with children, baking/cooking, playing with puzzles, lego, drawing, etc
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would try to keep the child calm, see what it is that I can do to help the child, if it is serious I would drive the child to the hospital or call an ambulance. After I would notify the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I was at the old ice-rink in Plumstead. I was babysitting 2 children, a boy and a girl. The girl who was older was skating and she fell with her hands spread out. At that same moment a a boy came and he rode over her fingers. It was a huge shock but I surprisingly stayed calm. The little boy was sop confused by what was happening because his sister was hysterical. I kept them both clam and rushed the girl to the hospital. I called the father and luckily they had a very good doctor who could put all her little fingers together. Was a tragedy but with a happy ending.
What is your approach to discipline?I would discuss discipline methods with the parents. I don't believe in spanking and leave that to the parents.I prefer the naught chair and if the child still persists to be naughty I speak to the parents.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would wait for the child to act out their tantrum and when they are calm I would speak to them calmly and ask them what the problem is and try and help them with whatever is making them upset.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would use the naughty chair.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would speak to the parents about this but try and get the child to do their homeowrk and explain the benefits of the child doing their homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3 months - 7 years old. I prefer younger kids.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a kindhearted person, I love arts and crafts and keeping active. I am loyal and reliable.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, poached eggs with toast
LunchMacaroni and cheese, fish finger, nuggets
DinnerSpagetti bolagnaise, sausage and mash, a cooked meal containing: veggies, a protien (like grilled chicken) and rice.
Snackrice cakes, raw: carrots, cucumber, green peppers, fruit bar
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Big Family roasts
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My mom is a window and she is retired. She is 65 years old and her name is Shirley Petersen. My father died when I was 27 years old and he worked for Golden Arrow as a panel-beater.I have a younger brother, 32 years old and he is a maintenance on a golf estate.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.