Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Claire

Personal Details

Reference # 201-29247
Name Claire
Nationality South African
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st), Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes 
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Tazz (2001), Roadworthy Check in April 2013
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?14 February, 2005

Education

Secondary Education
St Cyprian´s Schooln
Tertiary Education

Undergraduate at UCT: Majoring in Environmental Geographical Sciences and Drama.

Postgraduate at UCT: Postgraduate Certificate in Education (senior to FET)

First aid TrainingYes: Completed Level 3 First Aid in August 2012 at Matrix Ambulance First Aid training,  valid for 3 years

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving8 years. Reason for leaving is that I moved to Pretoria.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls, ages 5 and 12.
What were your duties?Started usually at 6pm, lifting 12 year to after hour activities, preparing supper, bathing 5 year old, brushed her hair, putting children to bed.  
 
 

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2002 - 2011, on and off for 9 years. The reason for leaving is that I moved to Pretoria.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?1 Boy (Age 2) and 1 Girl (age 4)
What were your duties?Babysitting: Started at 6pm. Started with activities such as hide/seek and boardgames, made supper, bathing them, put children to bed.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West
PRETORIA
Pretoria North
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West
Pretoria Centurion

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm            
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full time
Negotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Babysitting, Au pairing, substitute teaching, and full time teaching (currently). Total: 14 years.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started babysitting in our neighborhood in Cape Town when I was 12. I am the eldest of 3 children, so looking after younger children was always just part of my life. I am interested in babysitting because I've always had a passion for kids, even when I was a kid. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?18 months (Au pairing) and 3 - 6 months (babysitting). I am comfortable to look after any age group.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?At the moment I am a full time teacher. I really enjoy activities such as ballroom dancing, hiking, and camping. 
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love being able to be a part of the growth of a young person. I chose to be a teacher because witnessing and helping personal and psychological development in a child is the singularly most rewarding experience. Being involved in a child's life is very fulfilling. Being able to see what positive influence you can have on them is the greatest feeling in the world.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Depending on ages. Activities range from outdoor programmes which can be designed for individual children or a number of them. Personal favorites would include arts, crafts and music. For the very young, I love play-dough play and reading. Very interactive. Being outdoors with kids. Not good with ball sports. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Perform basic First Aid responses: little boy breaks his leg: Contact parents, call ambulance and if need be, get the child to the nearest hospital (which will have been checked with parents or Google before the job). Keep other children calm. I've always been a good problem solver as I am a teacher.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Student had an epileptic fit in my classroom. I have not been trained as a level 3 first aider yet. I supported her head until the seizure stopped, cleared the desks and lay her on the floor. Send a student to get the school nurse and moved the rest of the class out of the classroom. The student recovered in my classroom until the nurse cleared her to move to the sick bay, at which point the rest of the class was brought back in to continue with the day. I was not aware that the child was epileptic. After the incident I added the school nurse on speed-dial on my phone. 
What is your approach to discipline?No corporal punishment, but no negotiations. Parental rules still apply (which would have been discussed with them), and again, depending on the child's age, different disciplines apply. Rewards for good behavior. Positive reinforcement. Positive encouragements.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Ignore the tantrum, remove child from scenario which causes the tantrum. Wait for the child to calm down, and discuss the reason for the tantrum calmly. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Suggest that the child rather draw on paper. Provide paper and a better location (away from walls), and encourage the interesting drawings. Clean the wall, and encourage the child to assist, explaining very simply that we clean up after we play.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Reward system, or disciplinary. Either say things like "the sooner you finish, the sooner we can have dinner", or "no TV until you´re done" (depending on house rules). As a teacher, I would then sit with the child, and assess the best was to proceed according to interests and abilities. Ask the child what the problem is and then assist him/her patiently with it in order for them to feel competent.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3months - 13 years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, all are in Cape Town.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a bubbly and happy person, and am passionate about teaching and caring for children. I enjoy meeting people, and enjoy activities like Quiz Nights. I don´t drink or smoke, and tend to lead a fairly quiet life at home. Loving, caring, compassionate, not extremely social, calm lifestyle, tend to be busy and multitasking, very organized, always enjoying life. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I love cooking.
BreakfastCereal, milk / toast and a piece of fruit.
LunchSandwich - protein base with salad toppings, or sliced carrot/cucumber,lettuce, tomato
DinnerChicken bake, rice, peas and steamed carrots, mashed potato.
SnackOatmeal mini digestives, grapes, fruits.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mother teaches nursery school. My late father taught high school Geography at the same school for 27 years. My younger brother (24), works in online marketing, and my 21 year old sister is busy studying Physiotherapy at UCT. I am very close with them, even though I live Pretoria and they live in Cape Town.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.