Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lynne

Personal Details

Reference # 201-29172
Name Lynne
Nationality South African
Age 56
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st), Afrikaans (2nd)(understand, read and a small amount of speaking)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Chev Spark, 4-door 2012
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1981

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend highschoolCamps Bay High(1975)
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?
  • B Soc. Sci at UCT (1985)
  • Majored in Psychology and Child Educational Psychology
  • Modern personnel management (Cape Technikon)(1985)
  • Interior decorating workshop
  • Montessori Pre School Training
  • Moms and Tots Workshop Franchise Owner for 15 years
  • Eduplay playgroup teacher (18 months to 3 years)
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Aiden 18 mths, boy, Ava 5 mnths, girl
What were your duties?Taught and au paired Aiden, her eldest. Now with baby Ava, on flexi-time. Educating, nurturing, stimulating activities, fun, enjoyable outings, eg, library, aquarium, musuem,beach,park, nature. Loving, caring, feeding, putting to sleep.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingBeginning of 2012 to present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 daughters, the oldest from 2 years of age
What were your duties?I met the family through my playgroup, the oldest daughter joined my playgroup and then it moved to more of a private basis where I also did babysitting for the family over weekends and occasionally drove her home after playgroup. I still assist them and adore the family. My relationship with Alison is indeed divine. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full timeR70 per hour
Part timeR80-85 per hour

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 1986.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I knew when I was 10 yrs old that I was born to work with children. I am at my happiest when I have been with all the children that I connect with and love so much.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born in a personal capacity and from 5 months in a professional capacity.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I swim, read, go on nature walks and do yoga. On Sundays I house sit for Seef properties for their show days 2-5pm.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I understand their needs and tap into their true essence and develop on that thus connecting on a level they relate to, with the result we end up loving each other and miss each other when I'm not around.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading physical movement, music and dancing, Letting them be themselves in nature. swimming. Outings, laughing.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Breath deeply, show no panic, comfort and then assess how bad it is and take the necessary action, eg, call parents or rush to chemist, doctor.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When the mom locked the 3 yr old in the dark cupboard for not listening to her. I tried to not interfere but offered an alternate form of punishment like sitting in the ´relaxation´ corner for 3 minutes.
What is your approach to discipline?I do not tolerate bad manners and my discipline strategies are non-negotiable. Eg, No hitting,grabbing, smacking, must show respect for others and themselves, including belongings. To be consistent and follow through with what you say so as not to be manipulated. To be firm but still loving.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would physically remove the child, bend down look him in the eye and use a firm voice saying: " I understand you are frustrated, but you may not act like that. Come sit on the relaxation pillow. " Then I´d show him my deep breathing technique, arms up and blow out. It really works.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I´d say" I love that you like to draw but you MAY NOT draw on the walls. Come let me show you the space where you are allowed to draw and then we´ll have fun cleaning the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I´d ask them to explain the reason she may be having a problem and suggest we rather be part of the solution and what does she think that would be? Maybe a walk first or something to eat and negotiate.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?6 months to 6 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, lots on flexi time and ad hoc.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, gorgeous Josh, he was born 1991. 
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am out-going, love interacting with people (esp children), have a hug interest in human,family dynamics. I am a very good listener and a supportive non - judgmental friend. I am caring, loyal, honest, generous, empathetic and compassionate, occasionally amusing.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
Breakfasttoast, eggs
Lunchsarmies, mielies, burgers, fish fingers, chips
DinnerSpagetti bolognase, rice, chops ,tomatoe bredie
SnackFruit, yogurt, soup
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a very close family. My Dad is my hero and role-model. We live one road away from each other and talk every day. My mom died 8 years ago and now my dad is together with my yoga teacher. I have a good relationship with Josh´s father and his wife, often getting together on family occasions. I believe its a special gift we can give our children is to let them see their parents get on well together and to be good role-models of how we should treat people. My brother and his family live around the corner and we often have family dinners together.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.