Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Suzette

Personal Details

Reference # 201-28563
Name Suzette
Nationality South African
Age 35
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Afrikaans (1st) English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, last road worthy test- 2012.
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2007, Polo Classic
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened2012, It was raining, I had a citi golf at the time and the car went out of control in the rain and went into the barrier, we then brought a new car, the Polo I am currently driving
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2010

Education

Secondary EducationDe Aar High School( NC) -2002
Tertiary Education

National Management Assistant Secretary in 2003 through Upington College.

Educare - Au-pair course - 2009

First aid TrainingYes,

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2012 - January 2013,  the family can´t afford me any more.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, 3 year old boy and newborn baby boy.
What were your duties?Sterilising bottles, packing snacks for school, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, dressing both boys and getting the oldest one ready for school, taking the oldest one to school, feeding the baby his breakfast and lunch, changing his nappies, preparing his bottles and putting him down for naps. Also stimulating him and playing with him with age appropriate toys. I then fetch the oldest boy from school, play stimulating games with him and cook for the whole family every day. I take the children on outings, arrange play-dates, I take care of the pets and the household, run errands for every week ahead, take the pets to the vet and entertain the children.I have a great relationship with the family and Nicola. I was very sad to leave. WE are still in touch and have become good friends.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2011 - December 2011, the family emigrated overseas.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, 3 months old.
What were your duties?I worked from 7h30 to 17h30 daily. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and dressing him. Keep him entertained and playing stimulating games with him, taking him to his daily classes, preparing and puréeing his food for him and keeping his room neat and tidy. I also ran errands for the family, organised play-dates, did educational programs with him everyday, washed his clothes and kept his cupboards tidy. I took him to moms and babes classes, play group and occasionally on outings. When Lea was away I took full responsibility for Sohil, including bathing etc.We communicated well. Unfortunately I did not really enjoy the position as much as all my other positions. The family was muslim and the cultural differences, did create tension for me sometimes. They had different ways of doing things. The position ended after just 6 months as the family moved overseas and had not been upfront with me when I started. They told me 2/3 months before they left. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingSeptember 2010 - May 2011, my husband got retrenched ( this was in Pretoria) and found a job in Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 girls, 8 years old, 4 years old and a 17 month old.
What were your duties?I started at 9am daily and finished at 5pm daily. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and dressing the youngest one in the morning, stimulating her with colours, shapes, games, puzzles, dancing and counting. Fetching the older 2 girls from school and taking them to extra murals, tidying up the play room and bedrooms and bathing and dressing the youngest 2 in the evenings. I also organised all the play-dates and outings, fetched the children from school and crèche, assisted the oldest girl with homework and assignments, entertained all 3 girls during the holidays and running errands. I had a great relationship with this family. I am still in touch with Leanette and we chat regularly. 
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2009 - August 2010, husband relocated to Pretoria (this was in Cape Town)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Girl, 22 months old.
What were your duties?I started at 8am to 5pm, Monday to Friday. Serving of breakfast, lunch and dinner, stimulating her, taking her to play-dates and outings, tidying her room and cupboards, ensuring that she does not miss her swimming classes, running all household errands and making sure that all her toys are age appropriate. I love Shelly, she was a great employer and we still chat regularly. I recently attended her daughter's 5th birthday party. 
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2008 - June 2009, I started working as an Au-pair
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Class of 20 children between 18 months and 3 years old.
What were your duties?I was a Kindergarten Teacher and worked from 7am to 6h30pm. Serving them breakfast, lunch and snacks, potty training them, stimulating them with painting, drawing, puzzles and dancing. I taught them different shapes, sizes and colours and played with them on the swings, tyres and ladders. I had to prepare a lesson every day, keep activity books up to date each week and ensured that the classroom and cupboards with toys were neatly organised. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable 

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved in child care since June 2007.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started in a creche and from there on I just went au pairing and I´m still doing it! I love working with children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Love to read, taking walks on the beach, reading, playing tennis, go to the gym.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Seeing them growing up and knowing that you helped them to become the person that they are one day.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Going out on outings, doing puzzles, playing games, coloring in and swimming.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It depends on what emergency it is, if child doesn´t breath start doing cpr and after 5 sets call the emergency number.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A fever that went above 40 C, just went to get a cool cloth and damp the child off, put a fan on him and kept on swabbing the child.
What is your approach to discipline?Mutual respect, if you don´t respect the child, the child won´t respect you. You kneel that you can look the child in his eyes and talk to him about what he just did wrong.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would let the child finish and then, talk through the problem. If it was in public, I would go to the car and then calm her down by talking to him or her.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain that the we do not draw on walls take away the drawing equipment and get him/her to clean the wall. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would go sit with the child and do the homework with him/her.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Newborn up to 6 years old is my favourite. I am comfortable with children to a maximum of 8 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I´m very out going, reliable, neat and trustworthy. I like to have as much fun as possible and love being around children.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastAny kind of cereal, milk to drink, little tub of yogurt and his vitamins
LunchSausage, Mash and a salad
DinnerChicken Scnitzel, bake potato, peas, corn and carrots
SnackFruit: melon, apple, pear, watermelon, raisins, peanuts, etc.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have 5 siblings. I´m the youngest. I love my family dearly and speak to them once a week. I call my mom about 3 times a week. My dad stays in the Karoo and my mom stays in the Northern Freestate.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.