Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Shannon

Personal Details

Reference # 201-28473
Name Shannon
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) and Afrikaans (basic)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Corolla, 2001 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
Wynberg Girls´ High school - 2008.
Tertiary Education

Certificate in Journalism - 2010.

Starting February 2013 - Diploma in Exercise Science - The Health Institute of Professionals.

First aid TrainingYes, I completed First Aid when I was in Matric, but I am willing to renew it.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started in Jan 2010 - June 2011. I worked there for just over a year and a half. The parents got divorced and the mother started staying at home.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two children, a girl aged 8 and a boy aged 10.
What were your duties?I had to pick them up from school. The girl would go to surfing lessons after school, I had to go with and take the dogs with. We would then pick her brother up from his extra murals and go home. I then made lunch and we would do homework until parents got home. I loved working there. They lived in Houtbay in the forest and did not even have TV, very outdoor family.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started in June 2011 - December 2012. I have worked for the Wegeners for a year and a half, I am leaving in December as the mom is looking to retire.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two children, a girl aged 10 and a boy aged 13.
What were your duties?The girl had dancing after school and the boy had Water Polo. I fetched the girl and we would then watch her brother until he was finished and go home. They had to do their homework straight away, they then had a snack and we would take the dog for a walk. We played outside, I sometimes do grocery shopping for the family and we would play until the parents get home.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started caring for children in 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I enjoy being around children as it always brings out one´s youthful side. A friend left her job and they asked me to replace her. Very big family, looked after cousins.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was 8 years old (professionally and with family from newborn.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy going to the gym, cooking, reading and spending time with my family, going for hikes, beach and the outdoors.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love seeing them grow and do well at school. I love watching what children find amusing and seeing how the simple things in life can make someone so happy.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy playing outside with the children, swimming and jumping on the trampoline, I also like to go bowling and to the beach. Outdoor activities, play soccer, take dogs for a walk, play in the pool in summer, go to Silver-mine for the day.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would immediately phone the parents if there was time and find out what they would like me to do. If there is no time I would take matters into my own hands.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?While we were sitting at the computer, a man jumped over the wall and I saw him head to the front door, I grabbed the phone and locked the children in the study. He turned out to be an ADT man and the alarm had gone off earlier but I had not been informed.
What is your approach to discipline?Never be rude or offend them, they know what is wrong. My approach to discipline is very fair. If the children respect me there should not be a problem.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would calmly sit with them and wait until they have finished and then i will explain to them that they will not get anything by behaving like that.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?You can´t get angry with them because they are so little, the just see a big canvas, i would take them to the wall and tell them they can´t do that and i will show them what they are allowed to draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will tell the child why it is important to do their homework, if that does not work, we will sit in their room quietly until they do it. They will soon get bored and just get it over and done with.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with children from 3 years old to 14 years old
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I am currently working for the Wegeners, I finish working for them on the 14th of December as their mother is leaving her job.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am fun, energetic, fair, happy, patient, outgoing, I like to have fun and I am very independent.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs on whole wheat toast or cornflakes
LunchChicken Mayo on whole wheat with chopped tomatoes and cucumber, a naartjie, a yoghurt and some nuts
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaise
SnackA yoghurt and some nuts with a fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are a very big family, my parents are both in property and work from home, I have 2 younger brothers, one is 15 and has just made Western Province Cricket, the other is 9 and he is my world, he is super creative and artistic. My family get together every weekend.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.