Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Rayne

Personal Details

Reference # 201-28398
Name Rayne
Nationality South African
Age 36
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st),Afrikaans (Fluent)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Tazz, 2001 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2005

Education

Secondary Education
Rhenish Girls High - 2001
Tertiary Education
Environmental & Geographical Science, Public Policy & Administration and Gender studies - UCT, I just finished my 2nd year (2012).
First aid TrainingYes, I completed First Aid through the Academy of Maritime Medicine and also Fire Fighting and Fire Prevention through Pulse. Both certificates expired in August 2012, I will renew it if required.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started in April 2003 - December 2004, I left to travel South East Asia
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?On the boat I looked after different family's children between 7 - 11 years old. Sean had 2 children who I looked after they were 1 and a half and 2 and a half years old, they then also had a 3rd baby.
What were your duties?Sean was my captain aboard a Motor-yacht. I looked after the 3 kids when they were aboard as well as any other children that joined. I took them out on excursions off of the boat to water parks etc, as well as assisting in domestic tasks such as cleaning and food preparation. I then left to work for the captain in Cornwall, England, living in with his wife and 2 toddlers, as his wife was expecting a third. Therefore I entertained and cared for the toddlers aged 1 and a half and 2 and a half. Tasks included food preparation.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started in 2007 on / off, and then again since 2010 - Current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children - Boy aged 5 and girl aged 6 months
What were your duties?Lifting, food preparation and entertaining, mostly with art and craft work as well as reading for the boy (aged 5).
And the 6 month old I cared for a few hours whilst the mother had chores to do.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI started in May 2012 - current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, from newborn
What were your duties?Mostly not a whole day as she was breastfeeding, I would assist when she had things to do, when on formula I assisted more, now she has someone full time. Changing nappies, feeding, bathing etc. I assist now when she needs me to.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingI started in 2010 - November 2012, they cannot offer me more reliable work.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Girl, 1 year old when I started.
What were your duties?Take her out on day-trips and entertain her or stay at home with her, preparing meals, feeding, naps etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?On/ Off, I started caring for children in 2003.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started working on Motor -yachts and I then started caring for the kids on the bot as well, then my captain offered me an Au-pair position for his children in England. I came back to SA and then I started doing it part-time. I am good at it and I love kids.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was a Newborn
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am a outdoor girl, I enjoy trail running, surfing sometimes, hiking, camping, road running, I love cooking and eating, studying, academic reading.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child’s life?I like getting to know them and seeing how they react and engage in something. I enjoy the things they come up with and how their little brains work and their creativity. They come up with some crazy stories.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy doing art stuff with them and reading to them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would react to the injury, try to see if I can assist, if not I would call  the hospital or drive him myself and then phone the parents. I am quite good in these situations and I can stay calm.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?None.
What is your approach to discipline?It is entirely up to the parents, for myself they have to respect me. I would follow the parent's methods.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I don't see the point of getting angry at them, I would try to rationalise and stay calm, wait for it to be over and comfort them in it.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If the parents would allow it I would allocate a space and get the special paint to do it. If the parents don't want them to do it, I would get them to help me clean it off and explain that it is wrong. Maybe get them a chalk board to stick on the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explain that they have to do it first and then we can have fun, rationalise with them, negotiate a reward and Explain why it is important.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with all ages, but prefer 2-12 years old. I prefer to be more interactive with kids.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I assist with baby-sitting.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am easy going, friendly, happy and hard working. I am very relaxed and mature.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats or make it fun like Eggie in the middle with cheese on the side. 
LunchNoodles or toasted sandwich
DinnerChicken nuggets, home-made and get the kids to help.
SnackFruit, muesli bars, raisin packs or dried fruit.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My Parents are divorced, my mom is remarried, my father owns a small business in furniture. My brother lived overseas, he just moved back and just got married, he is a teacher, he is going to move back to Switzerland next year. My sister is school orientated, but is now focused on her singing and getting her album cut. I am the youngest, i live with my boyfriend.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.