Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Mellissa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-28355
Name Mellissa
Nationality South African
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st), Afrikaans (Fluent)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Car Polo, 2007 model.
o you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2005

Education

Secondary Education
Gardens Commercial High School - 2003.
Tertiary Education

South African Law School - Paralegal and Secretary Conveyancing certificate.

Cape College - Child heath certificate N5.

Cultural Care Au-pair - Au-pair training certificate.

Unisa  - ECD started in 2010. Foundation Phase

First aid TrainingYes, it was part of the Child Health Care certificate through Cape College.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started in November 2010 - October 2012, contract was over and I returned to SA.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?I looked after 6 Children, their ages were from 2-16 years old.
What were your duties?This was a live-in position. I started at 7:00 am. I had to get the children ready for school and prepare their breakfast. I then drove them to school and went back home again. I then did my light housework, clean up rooms and did laundry. I then had to pick up the little one from school, arrange play-dates for her, take her to play centre, the park or we would have a picnic. At 15:00 pm I had to pick the other kids up from school, take them home and prepare lunch / snacks for them and assist them with homework. I also had to take them to extra mural or sport activities. I then prepared their dinner, make sure everyone did their homework, get them ready for bed, I had to bath the little one and read stories to them.
  

Reference 2:


Reference 3:


Reference 4:


Reference 5:


Reference 6:


Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable 
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you have?
I started caring for children in 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?It started as a working holiday while I was studying.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child i have cared for was 2 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I read, go to gym, in the summer I go cycling and to the beach.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child’s life?I enjoy interacting with them and spending time with them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I would take them on Field trips to the museum, park, or have a picnic and go to the beach. Everyday is different.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depends on emergency. Example: The child fell and got a cut, I would tend to the wound, if the wound is bad, I would take the child to hospital and phone the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The child was behaving badly and inappropriate, I calmed him down and explained why his behaviour is wrong and solved the problem.
What is your approach to discipline?When the child is young then I believe in explaining everything to them. When older, give them time-out or take away a privilege. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?They are very young and don't really understand. I would not punish the child. I would calm him down, speak to him and let him know that I would help him if I know what is wrong and that I am concerned for him and there for him.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell him it is wrong and the punishment will be to clean the wall together or take away TV time. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Take away a privilege or offer a reward. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from 2 - 12 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No 
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am outspoken, shy at times, caring, patient, I love to learn, I am a outdoor person and I enjoy quiet time.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal or pancakes with juice / milk
LunchSandwich
DinnerRice, Potatoes. stew with veggies
SnackVegetables or Fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My has been a teacher at a crèche for the last 30 years, my dad is foreman in building. I have a older sister, she is also a teacher and my younger sister is a Marine Biologist and my brother works in IT.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.