Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Hanli

Personal Details

Reference # 201-27947
Name Hanli
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st) and English (1st), German (Basic)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)City Golf 2007 Model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?4 October 2008

Education

Secondary Education
Durbanville High School - 2008.
Tertiary Education

Diploma in Travel and Tourism -2009 - 2010

Child Daycare and Child Psychology - Intec -(2013). 

First aid TrainingYes, completed through Safe Kids in 2011, valid until 2013.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving21 January 2011 - current, I am working half-day for this family and need a full-day position.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Boys, 1 and 2 years old when I started.
What were your duties?Vanessa is a Single mom. In the afternoons, I pick them up from school and drive them home, when we are at home, I pack out their bags while they play for a while, I prepare their lunch and they eat on their own while I sit with them, they then take their plates to kitchen and we clean up. They sometimes have homework, we would do it and practise what they did at school that day. We then play outside with a ball and just have fun. They don't watch TV during the day. When it is sunny, we put on hats and sunblock, go outside and have a picnic. When rainy, we would play inside, building puzzles, draw or paint. They clean up their own mess and pack away toys. Mom comes home at 15:30. On Tuesdays and Wednesday I take them to swimming classes and back home again (On Wednesdays they go to their dad after swimming lessons and I go home early). During vacations we go on special outings, picnics and to parks. Mom goes to Namibia once a month for a day, I then go to their house in the morning, get them ready for school, drop them off at school and pick them up, go home, prepare supper, bath them, dress them in pyjamas and wait for mom to get home.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2012 - current, I am working half-day for this family in the morning - their son is going to play school next year and I am no longer needed. Helped out in Dec 2011 already to get to know them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after their daughter Sian (5) and son Wian (2).
What were your duties?I get there in the morning, prepare breakfast, sit with them while they eat, assist the boy, sometimes messy. Afterwards, we brush teeth, I get the girl ready for school and mom takes her to school. I stay at home with boy. On Mondays I take him to swimming classes, eat snack when back and play outside or go to their playroom, build puzzles, paint, draw, teach him the cutting technique, play with stickers and I do educational activities with him like building Lego and blocks. During School vacation with his sister home, we would bake and cook, take them on play-dates or their friends come over and we go on outings. I also sterilize his bottles and prepare it for him, at 11;30 I prepare his lunch and sit with him then I put him to bed with a bottle for a nap, I am trying to get him off his bottle. I prepare lunch for the girl and fetch her from school and take her home. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI started assisting them in August 2011 - current with baby-sitting.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Girls, 5 and 8 years old when I started.
What were your duties?I am their full time baby-sitter, I also assist them when the parents are away on business trips, I then live in. With baby-sitting, I would fetch the children from after-care, take them to extra murals and home again, prepare dinner for them, supervise bath-time, play with them with their dolls or toys, read them stories until they fall asleep. On Wednesdays when I finish early with my afternoon position, I pick the girls up, take them to extra murals and assist them with homework etc. I do lots of driving with this family as the girls has many extra mural activities like swimming, gymnastics, tennis, dance etc. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have childcare experience since 2009.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?During High school I wanted to study teaching, I then decided against it. My first love is children. I love working with children. In the next few years me and my sister would like to open our own daycare school. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was a 1 year old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do baby-sitting, I love reading, going out, movies, knitting, baking, cooking, gardening, bead work - arts and crafts. 
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child’s life?I love being there to help them and stimulate them physically and mentally, developing their skills to one day be successful, I enjoy seeing them grow and develop. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy building puzzles, drawing, colouring in, baking cookies and cupcakes, making play-dough, cutting and making cards for special days. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Example: A Child falls and has a serious cut. I would phone the ambulance or emergency services, get the child in a safe place, place pressure on the wound, then phone the parents, try to clean the wound, wrap, bandage or plaster it. Give the child sugar water and keep him calm and wait for the ambulance. If there is other people around like a domestic I would ask for help or ask them to phone.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?None, only few scrapes and bumps.
What is your approach to discipline?I would always ask the parents. My way is to count to 3, if they don't listen, I send them to the bathroom for time out. One minute per year age of the child.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Ask him to calm down and why, he would answer in a few words. I would ask him to please stop, if not, I would count to 3 and send him to the bathroom for 2 minutes. I would stand there and keep an eye on them. They then relax and we carry on. If it is a severe tantrum, I would let him sit in a corner against the wall for 2 minutes until he calms down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?They can understand at that age, I would ask why, did something upset him? Please stop doing it, if he does not listen, I would send him for time-out for 5 minutes in the bathroom, afterwards help him clean it. I would also tell the parents, to find out what triggered it, give him paper to draw on. Explain that his house is important and not there to draw or paint on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Ask him to calm down for a second, explain that it is important and that this is the way you learn. After homework is done we can play. Give him a reward. If he does not listen, give him a few minutes to think about it in time-out, then finish it and play. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with 2-10 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, all of them.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am loving and caring, I would do anything to help children in need, stimulate them in right ways, I am a creative person, a extrovert, a peoples person, outgoing and friendly.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastPorridge 
LunchSandwich with an egg or spread or ham and cheese
DinnerPasta or baked fish with mielies or peas, and mashed potato. 
SnackFruit , Vienna, yoghurt, nuts or dried fruit. Water and juice through the day
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My Mom works at Durbanville Medi clinic, my Dad has his own Maintenance business, I  have an older sister who Au-Pairs and a brother who lives in London for the past 12 years. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.