Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Carey

Personal Details

Reference # 201-27817
Name Carey
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (basic)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renault Clio va va voom 1.4 (2006)
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
I went to Herschel and I completed Matric at Abbotts College - 2008.
Tertiary Education
Bachelor of Education - Foundation Phase. Completed through Unisa
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started assisting them in 2010 with occasional baby-sitting.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, Emily(6) Jake(3)
What were your duties?This was usually in the evening. I would get there at 18:00, give them their supper, we would watch TV, then bath time, go to their bedrooms, get them dressed and read them stories. I would lie down with little one until he falls asleep. I then checked on them until their parents gets home.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI assisted them in 2010 for a year , I left because the kids got older and they did not need an Au-Pair any more.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, 8 and 4 years old.
What were your duties?I would get there in the morning, make sure they have their breakfast, dress them, make sure they brush their teeth, play with them - Lego etc, take them for walks, take them to friends houses, take them to swimming lessons and feed them supper.This was a part time position of once a week.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving8 months in 2010
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, 1 and 5 years old.
What were your duties?I fetched the oldest one from school, took him to his karate lessons and play with them. I only assisted with the 1 year old. This was also a part time position of twice a week.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJune - November 2011.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, he was 13 years old.
What were your duties?Fetched him from school in the afternoons, running general errands, shopping, cooking, helping with homework, feeding dogs and cats. I also looked after him for 10 days when Mandy was away to Johannesburg, I then also took him to school in the mornings and we went to the movies.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started caring for children in 2008.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always been good with kids. I have an 8 year old sister who I loved to look after and I realised I wanted to go into childcare. I am busy studying a Bachelor of Education.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for professionally was 1 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Gym, scrap-booking, walking the dogs, swimming and baking. 
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?They have such a positive attitude towards life and they enjoy being active, they are so innocent.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Taking them on outings like the Aquarium or the beach, painting and drawing.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would phone the ambulance and then the parents depending on the emergency.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?None, just when I was looking after 2 kids, they mom was ill and I had to take her to the hospital with the kids.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe that a child should know when they are in the wrong and discipline should be taken straight away. I do not believe in smacking or the naughty corner. I believe in positive reinforcement.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Pick up the child and take to room. Try calming child down by them sitting on my lap.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain to them that the wall is not for drawing and they should know that. If they would like to draw they must just ask me for paper and we can draw together.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Tell them that they need to get it done. I will be able to help them but they can´t play or relax until all homework is done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children between 4 - 16 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Occasionally for Wendy Wood baby-sitting.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I have a very positive outlook on life. I have a lot of patience. I care a lot for animals as well. I enjoy adventure. I am very laid back and chilled.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCut up fruit followed by Pronutro/cereal and toast
LunchToasted sandwich, a yoghurt and fruit juice.
DinnerCrumbed chicken and vegetables
SnackFruit, yoghurt, biltong
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Eggs
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have 2 sisters, Leigh who is 25 and lives in Johannesburg and Skye who is 8 and lives with my Dad and I. My mom lives nearby and often goes overseas to care for the elderly. My dad goes on oversea trips often and I look after my sister sometimes.My parents are divorced and my dad remarried.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.