Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Christel

Personal Details

Reference # 201-27725
Name Christel
Nationality South African
Age 41
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st), English (Fluent), Dutch (Fluent), German (Understand)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Chevrolet Spark 2006 model 5door
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedn/a
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2003

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend high school
I completed matric at High school Otjiwarongo in Namibia in 1996.
What was your pass rate for MatricPassed
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?

Tygerberg College (Now Northlink College) - Educare Diploma - Early Years in 1997/1998, N4 - N6.

CAPS Gr R Course - Department of education February 2012. (1 day course on the new Curriculum)

SNAP Course - Carol Vikos, tutoring children with special needs especially those on the Autism spectrum.(2 week course in June 2011)

Everyday Maths - ENS Abu Dhabi, Dubai, 2 day course on Maths in ECD. (August 2010)

Dutch language course - University Leiden in the Netherlands, terms course in the writing, speaking and understanding of the Dutch language. (June 2000).

I am currently studying towards my BeD Degree through Unisa (2012)

First aid Training

Yes, completed through the First Aid Academy, expiring 17 March 2015.

 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started in 1998-2003 I could not extend my Visa any more.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children oldest was 3months old when I started and the second was born while I was there. 2 girls
What were your duties?Get them dressed and prepare breakfast, older took them to school, pack lunch, in charge of household, cleaning, shopping, cooking. Before school, had a program for them for their development, evenings only when parents were away, prepared dinner for children. Night duty with newborn baby. Nappy changing, bottles etc. Bathing.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started in 2004 - 2006, my Visa expired.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Class of 25 children from 16 months - 5 years old.
What were your duties?Nursery teacher, planning of daily activities. They did not have a playground, we went to the park every day. I had to keep them safe, supervision. I was in charge of a different area every day, maths, music and movement, science etc, Supervised lunch and dinner, communicating with parents and was in charge of opening and closing of nursery.
Do you know the applicant? 

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI started in 2008 - 2011, my Visa expired.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?KG 1 & 2 and Gr R, 3-5 years old. Ages ranged between 3-5 years old.
What were your duties?I was a home-room teacher in English. Planning of activities, teaching them English, supervision inside and outside, snack times and lunch times.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingFeb 2012 - present, handed in notice, need time for studies.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2-3 year old class
What were your duties?I am a home-room teacher, to develop the child as a whole through play. Planning activities, potty training, supervision, keeping them occupied in a safe learning environment.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties? 
Do you know the applicant? 

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leaving 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties? 
Do you know the applicant? 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeR10 000 per month, I am looking for a part time or temporary position as I am planning to go overseas in August 2013.
Part timeR55 per hour, I am available for baby-sitting.

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started caring for children in 1997.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have been babysitting since I was 11, I then went on to study Educare and I have been working with children since. I am studying for my degree and would like more flexible hours than offered in a school.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was a New born baby.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy Swimming, Walking, Reading, Movies, I study allot and I enjoy meeting with friends.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child’s life?The innocence and openness of a child. They have no judgements yet and they look at life with so much joy and appreciation.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Art activities, Messy activities - baking, Active activities - playing ball, running around, swimming
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Keep calm, Keep the child calm, Contact emergency services and then Contact the parents
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have been thrown with a chair by a child, I stayed calm, he ran away and I chased after him, let him calm down and then spoke to him about it, he was mentally not well.
What is your approach to discipline?Consistency, your no is no, time out or Positive reinforcement


How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Ignore it unless it looks like the child might hurt him/herself. Keep calm and wait for the child to calm down
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell him/her that it is a beautiful drawing but it should be done on paper so we could show mom and dad. Seeing as it was done on the wall and that is not allowed he/she will now have to help clean it off.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Think of a fun activity the child likes to do and tell him/her that we can do that as soon as the homework is done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with children from Birth up to 4 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am organised but flexible. I have a quiet manner about me, but I love fun filled activities. I am patient and caring, easy going, organised and structured, always prepared, a children's person and calm.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats, French toast, eggs and bacon
LunchSandwich with ham and cheese
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaise
SnackFruits or veggies
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mom and dad live in Namibia. They work with the Bushmen community. My father is a Minister of the Dutch Reformed Church and my mother the secretary of the centre they are in charge of to help the community. My brother works and lives in Cape Town, he is a General Manager at a restaurant

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.