Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tamlyn

Personal Details

Reference # 201-27583
Name Tamlyn
Nationality South African
Age 27
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English.(1st) basics of Hebrew and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Figo 2011
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2011

Education

Secondary Education
Crawford College Sandton - 2010
Tertiary Education

2nd year - BA in Sport Psychology - University of Johannesburg.

First Level Football Coaching course-  Dutch Association. (KNVB)

First aid TrainingNo, but we will be doing that in my studies next year (2013)

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAugust - End of September 2012, I worked for the family for 2 months. The family had a driver working for them so my work became an unnecessary expense for the family, so I was released from duty.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two children, females age 9 and 15 years old.
What were your duties?I was their Driver. Fetching the children from school and dropping them at home or at extra murals
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMarch - June 2012. I worked for 4 months and was released from duty when the Netball season ended.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I worked with 40 girls age 9 years old.
What were your duties?I coached Netball to the girls 2 times a week as well as umpired their matches. I taught them skills, warm-ups and got them ready for matches.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary - November 2009, I had to concentrate in Matric.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Mostly Boys and some girls age 5-12.
What were your duties?I fetched the little kids from after- care at Crawford Prep and assisted in coaching them football. Taught them skills, supervised them and played little matches.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingOctober 2012- January 2014. I am relocating to Cape Town 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, a girl aged 4 with a hearing disability and hearing aid. she only has 40% of her hearing and a boy aged 8 with a learning disability.
What were your duties?I drove/lifted the children to extra murals, school and friends. I did homework with the little boy. i played sports and activities with the children as well as taking them out for activities and fun things.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am            

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started working with children in 2009.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved children and was offered the netball coaching job at Crawford Sandton. So to be paid to do something that makes me happy is my main goal. Children make me blissful
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?When my younger sister was a baby I used to feed her, bathe her, change her nappy, get her ready for bed etc. She is 10 now. So more recently the youngest was 5 years old. I am capable of taking care of those younger.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I study at the University of Johannesburg. I play football (soccer) for the University's 2nd team on some nights. I watch football on TV. I go to gym every few days. I have many pets and love taking my puppy for a walk. I have an obsession with music and play tunes really loud whenever I can. I occasionally do promotions on weekends to earn some extra cash.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child’s life?I think Au-pairing/ Baby sitting is beautiful for a kid to experience as they can teach me things as well as me them. I am very open to new things and I have many things to teach. Its good for a child to learn other perspectives of life other then their immediate environment.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I am very sporty so I would like to influence the children in that aspect. Swimming, ball skills, football, netball, games. Minimal television. I enjoy baking and painting and drawing etc.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the emergency, I would try sort out the issue on my own but if that is not possible I would call the parents or the hospital. That would be a last resort.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When I coached the 9 year olds netball, there was a fair amount of crying, injuries, nastiness and physical abuse. I would talk to each girl individually, explain to them the situation/ why they were wrong and tell them to sort it out and talk to each other and apologise. And with injuries I would clean them up, ice them, bandage them and give them a sweet and a hug to make them feel better.
What is your approach to discipline?My mother raised me by punishing/ grounding me whenever I did something wrong. I am a Psychology student and have realised this is the WRONG approach. My approach is to explain to the child why their behaviour is unacceptable and what the result is or could have been and explain to them why they must not do it again. No shouting or aggression or punishing. Merely a talk.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would give the child my attention. Maybe try to hold or embrace them. Take them away from any objects her or she is trying to break or throw. And after he or she calms down I would talk it over with them and next time be aware of what initiates the tantrum and avoid it.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would first explain to her why its not okay. I would then make her clean it off herself and perhaps she will realise how difficult it is and won't do it again. And I would then maybe give her a pen and paper or perhaps paint with her on a canvas.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explain to the kid why he has to do his homework. Try help him with the work and make it fun rather then boring. And the last resort would be offering incentives for the completion of work.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with children between 1-18 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I can be very quiet and to myself and I can also be very loud and playful and fun. I don't see reason of living up tight and think humans should be free and silly. I am a Vegan and love animals and hate those who are cruel to animals. I love being fit and exercise regularly.I am always willing to listen and learn.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled egg, muesli and yoghurt, Sautee vegetable and vegan sausages
LunchToasted cheese, burger patties, sandwiches
DinnerPasta, burger patties, roasted/grilled/sautéed/steamed vegetables
SnackPopcorn, nuts, chopped up vegetable or fruits
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I feel uncomfortable cooking meat as I am a Vegan. But I am willing to do so if the job requires
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are four kids. Age 22, 20 (me), 16 and 10. My parents are still together and living together. My Mother is a stay at home mom and my Dad is a Financial Consultant. My older sibling lives in Cape Town and the younger two are currently at Crawford Sandton.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.