Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Ilana

Personal Details

Reference # 201-27431
Name Ilana
Nationality South African
Age 42
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st), English (1st), German

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Corolla 2003
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1995

Education

Secondary EducationBredasdorp - 1995.
Tertiary Education

Several Financial Qualifications.

Several IT Qualifications.

BA LAW (uncompleted) will finalise later,

BA - Political Science & Psychology (Unisa),

Grade 8 Piano (Unisa). Practical and Theoretical.

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving1996 - 1997 in Germany. Spent one year as an Au Pair
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl aged 3
What were your duties?Normal things, get her up in the morning, give her breakfast, take her to school for 2 hours, fetch her again, did activities with her like walking, playing, playing educational games and getting her ready for when the parents came home.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2008 - Current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children, both are girls. 4 and a half and 1 and a half years old.
What were your duties?They were both Reflux babies, I assisted with everything for them, changing nappies, bottles, playing, putting to sleep, feeding etc.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2010 - current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Twins, from newborn, 1 boy and 1 girl.
What were your duties?Changed nappies, but only from 4 months old as mom wanted to change it herself, assisted with feeding, putting to sleep, playing with them etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started caring for children in 1996. 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I was an Au-pair in Germany and was also in Frail Care.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was Newborn
  
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am a  financial advisor, I have my own practice, I have a lot of spare time. I enjoy reading, I sing in a choir, I enjoy spend time with family, singing and music.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?No matter what life gives them they will stroll over it, they are always positive, love just being around them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Swimming, singing, playing educational games. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Phone emergency services, try to assist as far as possible, these are precious seconds to save a child's life.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?No not really.
What is your approach to discipline?I am quite strict, I don't believe in yelling and screaming, children need boundaries, work within discipline and boundaries, not to struggle later in life without discipline.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Ignore it, reaction is what they are after, eventually they will give in when not receiving an reaction.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?They have creative minds, at that age calmly explain why it is wrong and let them help clean it up - consequences to actions.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Very strict, consistent, they can do an activity after homework is done, explain why it is beneficial.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age group, easier from 18 months up to 16 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still assist with baby-sitting.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am patient, friendly, I am loyal and a good friend, intelligent and passionate, I care for others.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastWholegrain cereal, yoghurt or milk with a fruit
LunchSalad with egg or tuna
DinnerVeg with chicken
SnackRaisins, nuts, sprouts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I won't be comfortable cooking "Afval".
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My Mom was a teacher, she now works on the Maths Curriculum, My Dad is a Regional Manager, I have a sister who works at Media24 and she has twins, my brother and his wife lives in the UK, they are moving to SA end of this year.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.