Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Keagan

Personal Details

Reference # 201-27217
Name Keagan
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st), Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced.
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai i10 (2011)
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2010

Education

Secondary Education
Bekker High - 2006.
Tertiary Education
Certificates in Criminal Law, Constitutional Law and Psychology 101 in the States.
First aid TrainingYes, Expires October 2017

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started 26 July 2010 - July 2012. It was 2 year international Au pair program.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 6 Children.They were 5 months, 17 months, 27 months, 11 years, 12 years and 16 years old.
What were your duties?This was a Live-in position. I would start at 7:15, dress the babies and get them ready for the day. I would then clean up their rooms and prepare breakfast. We did activities that varied from toddler classes to playdates in the mornings. At 12:00 we went home for lunch, then we read books and had nap time until 4. When they woke up we would play cardgames or play piano on cold days and on warmer days we would go to the park. Dinner time was at 18:00, I worked until 18:30. I prepared all meals, cleaned up, washed dishes for the kids and did all kids laundry and grocery shopping. I wasnt just a employee, I was part of the family. I am still in contact with them.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2009 - 2 Feb - 15 March
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Child, girl 3 days old.
What were your duties?I changed nappies, assisted with feedings, bathing and putting her down for naps.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2004 - every school holiday until the end of 2006.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Groups of 12 kids at a time, ages between 6-15 years old.
What were your duties?Supervised activities, room inspections, meals, base ball, cook-outs, hiking trails. Slept in rooms with them. I really enjoyed it as it was outdoors.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg South

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started since I was in 10th Grade, 6 years all together.2 years full time au pair, 3 years part time camp Councillor and odd sitting jobs.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started Councillor in 10th grade, but before that I would help my mom with my two younger sisters. I love children and believe that each and every child deserves the opportunity to excel to their full potential.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 Days old. Nicole Roberts 0795064287
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Baking, reading, playing tennis, Scrap booking
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?What is not to like, I get to give them the attention they deserve and teach them wrong and right.I love being able to set good examples and answering curious questions that they have. Hearing them laugh and making sure that they are safe and happy
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading books, being with them. playing games and playing outside
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Remain calm, contact the parents unless it´s life threatening in which case I would contact the necessary services (Ambulance, Police, Fire Department)
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Other than tantrums, no big problems.
What is your approach to discipline?This depends on the parents view, Some parents prefer to discipline their children themselves. In America I used the time out System, I found it worked really well

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If I had stopped something that they were doing was the cause of the tantrum I would maintain eye contact and calmly explain why what they were doing was not good behaviour. If the tantrum was set off by something else I would try removing them from the situation and distracting him/her with something else
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would remove him/her from the situation, leaving them in a time out to calm down, then explain why what he/she had done was wrong. Ask him/her to apologies for what he/she had done
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Deductive reasoning or with hold privileges
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?New Born through to the age of 5.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I´m a happy go lucky 24 year old who has a passion for children and a zest for life. I love spending time with my family.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal and fruit, Pancakes and fruit
LunchSandwiches
Dinnerspaghetti bolognese
SnackTRAIL MIX
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I live with my father and step mother in the South Of JHB, I have an older brother who is married and has a daughter of his own (8 years old) Who I try spend as much time with as possible. My mother lives in PTA with my two younger sisters (12 & 17 years old) I see her often. We are a close family who spends weekends together

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.