Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Manda

Personal Details

Reference # 201-27186
Name Manda
Nationality Malawian
Age 35
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English (Fluent), Chichewa (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2006 Ford focus
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2012

Education

Secodary EducationMalawi School Certificate of Education - 2003
Tertiary Education

Au-Pair Full House Course - Educare -2010

Currently studying Office Administration, 1year 6months Certificate - Institute of Certified Bookkeeper and Accounting  (ICB) (2017)

First aid TrainingYes,Expired March 2017 (renewing it July 2017)

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started in December 2010 - current.(Going on 4 years)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, 1 and a half years old when I started.
What were your duties?I would get there in the mornings, prepare breakfast, dress him and take him to school at 9h. I will then go home and finish my house keeping duties. i would fetch him from school again at 12h, take him home, give him lunch and get him to sleep at 13:00 until 15:00. I would wake him up, take him for a walk, go to the park, paint and draw with him and entertain him until 17:00. Then I go home. My duties include, preparing lunch-boxes, sterilizing and preparing bottles, prepare him for bed and bath when the mother is on business trips, give him medication when required as parents permission,  communicate with parents if any problems occur, wash and iron his clothes, cooking and assisting with grocery shopping and all other house-keeping duties.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started caring for children in 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I came to SA with an interest in Childcare, I then completed a course through Educare and started working in childcare.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was 1 and a half years old (professionally) and my own from newborn.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like listening to music, making friends and spending time with my family.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child’s life?I like to entertain and teach them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Entertaining them, teaching them new things, playing ball games and doing creative activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depends on the emergency. If the child collapsed, I would administer CPR and phone an ambulance, I will carry on until the ambulance arrives and then phone the parents. If the child has a fever, I would give him medicine as per the parents and phone them.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A child having a fever, I luckily know what to do, I gave him medication as per the parents, calmed him and phoned the parents.
What is your approach to discipline?Depends on what the parents want, talk to them about it and get their permission like for the naughty corner when the child is naughty.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Talk to him, try to calm him and explain that he must ask nicely if he wants something, not throw a tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell him that it is not right, make him clean it and give him paper to draw on with me.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Talk to him, try to help him and ask the parents what to do if it continues.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age group
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I work for Michel.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, 16/01/2012
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very peaceful and quiet, I don't like conflict, I am friendly.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastPorridge
LunchSandwich
DinnerChicken, rice and vegetables 
SnackFruits and juice
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Yes, fish as I am allergic.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am married and we have a 9 month old boy. My brothers and sisters live in Malawi, I have cousins who live in SA.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.