Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tarryn

Personal Details

Reference # 201-27181
Name Tarryn
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (Fluently)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Tazz
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
Port Shepstone High School - 2005.
Tertiary Education
I am planning to do Communication Science next year through Unisa
First aid TrainingYes, I completed First Aid Level 1 through Action Training Academy, it expires in 2015. (SETA Approved).

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2010-2011, reason for leaving; I relocated to Port Edward.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I was responsible for 15 children, males and females, newborn -3 years, the Baby class.
What were your duties?In the morning I had to pick up 4 kids on the way to the school, getting there we would play while waiting for everyone to arrive. We then had assembly, doing the morning prayers, singing songs and then go to class. We would learn letters, shapes and colours (although small they took some of it in). We then had song time, snack time and nap time. After the naps we had lunch and free play, then it was story time, clean up and we had to get ready to go home. I did Nappy changing, prepared bottles, assisted with potty training. I was to make sure the play area was kept safe and clean. There were 4 children I drove home after school finished.I loved working there and was upset to leave.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started caring for children in 2011.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children and I was looking for work at a Pre-School. I have a passion for working with children and helping them develop and grow. I was overjoyed to get the job. Unfortunately, I was forced to relocate so I had the leave the school.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was a 1 year old.
  
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy cooking and art. I am an avid reader and I am teaching myself to speak French. I love drawing and painting.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The most rewarding thing is to watch a child grow up to be independent and confident. I would love to be a part of that. You make them happy.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?My favourite pass-times with children is story time, and educational games. Teaching them how to recognise colours, shapes and their names. I also love singing and dancing with the children and building puzzles.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Contact emergency services, then the family to brief them on the situation, making sure everyone was safe.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?No, just kids falling etc.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe that discipline is necessary. If a child misbehaves, they need to be calmly told that what they have done is wrong, and have a five minute break to calm down.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Make sure they are unable to injure themselves then ignore them until they calm down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain to them that drawing is for paper and make them help me wash the wall, then give them paper to draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?5 minute time out, then ask them why they do not want to do it, then tell them if they hurry up and do it, they will be rewarded.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with children between 1-5 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am passionate, carefree and humble.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastWholegrain cereal with fruit
LunchWhole-wheat sandwiches and a yoghurt
DinnerMeat and vegetables with sauce/gravy
SnackFruits, crackers with cheese.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a sister in Pietermaritzburg, my parents are still together, my mom works at a Newspaper and my father is self-employed.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.