Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Alta

Personal Details

Reference # 201-27167
Name Alta
Nationality South African
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Afrikaans (1st), English (Fluent)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Figo TDI 2011
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedn/a
In what year did you obtain your driving license?Jan 2008

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend high school
I completed Matric in 2005 at Hoerskool Waterkloof
What was your pass rate for MatricMerit
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?BEd Degree in Foundation Phase through the University of Pretoria completed in 2011,
First aid TrainingYes, Level 1, through University, expiring this year (2012), I did a refresher course, awaiting certificate.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving1 August 2012 - currently their Au-Pair
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children, 15 months old girl and boy is 2 and a half.
What were your duties?I always have something planned. I get there, mom fixes breakfast and will relay the plans for the day, do the shopping, pack nappy bag, feed the children, clean them up afterwards, change their nappies, dress them, play outside when weather is good or inside if not, hide and seek, blocks, listen to music and dance, go somewhere, put them in their chairs in the car, mom is always present. Create optical courses for them. put them to sleep, prepare bottles, Lindi gets breastfed, I put Ruan to bed and mom puts Lindi to bed, I go home when they sleep or sometimes wait until they wake up, we sometimes go on outings.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started end May 2011 - end of July 2012, reason for leaving was, it was too stressful for me, I was diagnosed with ADHD. I decided to follow my dream of writing children's books and working in a more relaxed environment with children.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Classes of Grade 1 - 7
What were your duties?I was a foundation phase teacher in Maths, English and Afrikaans and Life Skills, I had to sometimes take the children outside and introduce them to a sport. Looking after them mark books, make sure that they are doing the right work, preparing their work, made up songs and stories and did break time supervising. Make sure they are dressed right, make sure their emotional and physical development are doing fine. I believe the main duty in school / teaching is to get to know the children and empower them to make their strong points stronger.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI was busy studying then.November 2010 - December 2010
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Class of 5- 13 years old children
What were your duties?I had to supervise the children after school and assist them with their homework.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West
Pretoria Centurion

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full timeI am looking for a full time position of R5000+.
Part time 

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been working with children since 2006.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Both my parents are teachers, so that is where it all started. It comes naturally to me, I can work with all ages. I enjoy it.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was new born.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am busy writing children's books, I am on my 5th book now. I am Au-pairing for a family at the moment.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The fact that even though I am not the mom, that they trust me, they love you unconditionally.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Anything, go for walks, running, hide and seek, do things leading towards their personalities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would asses the situation, phone parents or emergency persons, act upon parents orders.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?In school a child fell and got a cut on his shin, I had to see how deep the cut was. Luckily it was not too deep, I then took the child to the emergency room at school.
What is your approach to discipline?If you are looking for trouble then you will get trouble. Depends on parents and the type of children. I will never spank a child, that is breaking a boundary.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I became a master with that, I would leave the child for a few minutes, pick him up and distract him and it will also depend on why he is throwing the tantrum, try to relax him. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Talk to them about it, tell them that this is wrong.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Sit with them and tell them to do it and then have playtime, depending on the child. Take a nap if tired etc. Their work might be difficult, let them know you are there to help them.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with children from Newborn - 2 years and from 4 years old and up.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I assist the Engelbrecht family.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am outgoing, I love to relax and read, I am very positive, I see the best things in live, I try to avoid conflict and I am happy.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats , mieliepap or Matabella, Cereal
LunchSandwich or left overs, fish fingers or nuggets
DinnerCooked meal with veggies
SnackToast with Marmite, yoghurt or fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.Both my parents are teachers, I am the eldest of 3, I have a sister and a brother, we are very family orientated and we are sport crazy.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.