Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Amy

Personal Details

Reference # 201-27018
Name Amy
Nationality South African
Age 27
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), basic Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes (serviced: 2012)
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renualt Clio, 2005: Dark blue
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes (not in the middle back seat)
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?9 July 2010

Education

Secondary Education
Brescia House Convent High School (Johannesburg)
Tertiary Education

Bachelor of Social Sciences in Psychology and Gender Studies at UCT. Social development courses, history and philsophy. (second year student)

First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAd hoc for +- 8 years. I have stopped care for the children due to moving provinces. I would look after 3-4 children over a weekend. Generally about 10-12 weekends in a year, depending on their school holdidays and then I would take them for longer periods of time.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Birth to 13. Usually between 3-7 years old. Boys and girls. Up to four at one time.
What were your duties?Entertaining, feeding, bathing, administering medication (anti-retro virals) and putting to bed.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?8 years.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved through an orphanage/place of safety in Johannesburg; where I have fostered children for the weekend. I am interested in this because it is aligned with the field I am studying and I have a natural aptitude with children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?10 days old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am part of the UCT Cricket committee and I work as a cricket scorer for them. I also enjoy gyming and sewing/crafts.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Watching them develop and grow whilst discovering new things about themselves and the world around them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy doing crafts and educational games (puzzles), reading and outdoor activities (swimming or soccer).
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would assess the situation, and then ensure that the children are safe and once I have established their safety and the situations stability I would contact the relevant emergency services.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Caring for HIV positive children I the presence of other children and caring for children who have special needs. This has especially been a challenge when taking the children out into public places. I have handled this by ensuring that I always have an open dialogue with the children and that they understand what needs to happen in certain situations. In the case of special needs children it is important to make them feel safe and that you can communicate properly with them based on their needs.
What is your approach to discipline?My approach to discipline is focused on discussions and open communication as well as ensuring that children understand the reasons for certain rules. I would never and have never used corporal punishment.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would ensure that the child is in a safe situation and then I would wait for them to calm down enough to the point where I could communicate with them. I would try to distract their centre of focus too.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would calmly explain to them why we don´t draw on walls and that this behavior is not okay. I would then give them an alternative.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain to them that homework is not optional, but that when the homework is done we are allowed to do something fun. If they were having difficulty with the homework I would assist them.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?birth to 10 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?N/A
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a person who is passionate about people and really enjoy interacting with people. I especially enjoy interacting with children of all ages as I am fascinated by them.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastBoiled eggs and toast. (2 years old)
LunchSalad finger food and viennas.
DinnerFish fingers, mashed potatoes and vegetables.
SnackFruit, healthy biscuits or yoghurt,
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a very close-knit open and interactive family. I have a younger brother who I look after a lot, as I come from a single home. We, as a family enjoy lots of activities together and are very supportive of each others interests. We enjoy simple things in life and laugh a lot.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.