Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Carla

Personal Details

Reference # 201-26976
Name Carla
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st), English (2nd), Dutch (Fluently)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (i.e. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Volkswagen Golf Chico 1998 Model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedn/a
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend high school
I completed Matric at Robertson High School 2006.
What was your pass rate for MatricD
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?Varsity College - I did my first year in Journalism. I completed a 3 months course in Language - Netherlands, I can speak and understand Dutch. Intec - Events Planning
First aid TrainingYes, I completed a course through Dynamikos, valid until 2015

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI worked there from September 2008 until September 2009. My contract expired and South Africans are only allowed to work as Au Pairs in the Netherlands for a year.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after two boys. Anton (aged 2) and Daniel (Aged 4)
What were your duties?On Mondays and Fridays I looked after the children, played with them, went on walks, went to the park to play ect. As the year progressed and Daniel turned 4, he started to go to school, so I had a "bakfiets" in which I took him to school (about 2km from the house). The rest of the day Anton and I played and we went to fetch Daniel from school in the afternoon around 4 O´Clock. On Tuesday and Thursdays the boys went to a play group. Their mother or father usually took them, but there where the few occasions when I had to take them. The rest of the day I spent going to the shops to buy food for the evenings dinner (that I had to cook) and I did the ironing and changed the boys´ beds. Most evenings the boys were picked up by their father or mother from the play group, some nights I had to go and get them. Wednesday I had a free day and most weekends as well, there were the few times that I had to work on a Saturday or Sunday morning.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started in 2010 - current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, newborn when I started assisting.
What were your duties?Looking after him, feeding, changing nappies etc, now I play with him that he is bigger, entertain him. His mom is a make up artist, I usually go with her to look after him.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeR7000,00 p/month, I am looking for a full time position
Part timeI am available for baby-sitting. R60 + per hour.

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started caring for children in 2008.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children and always wanted to work with them. I saw it as an opportunity to travel the world. When I came back from the Netherlands, I thought I had to get a "real" job, but I am really starting to miss working with children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was newborn.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?No jobs, I like to do scrap booking, take photos and reading. Music is also a very big part of my life, I love listening to any kind of music. I play the piano.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child’s life?I love it when a child discovers something new. The look in their eyes, it´s priceless. It makes you appreciate little things so much more. I love to experience everything new through their eyes.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love playing with them, going for walks and that kind of stuff. I can get so excited playing on a jungle gym with children and if it is raining and they can´t play outside, I even let them use me as their own personal jungle gym.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It depends on what kind of emergency it is. I will weigh up all the options and choose the best one for that situation. I will try to handle it if possible, phone the parents or emergency services.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The boy I looked after in the Netherlands had somehow gotten a coin stuck in his throat. I was so scared, at first I panicked, but I immediately realised that it is not the thing to do, I have to keep the child calm. I looked in his throat and could not see the coin, I tried to get it out with my fingers and nothing helped, so I had to call the mother who rushed home. The next week, the younger boy stuck a wheel of a toy car up his nose. I went to get my tweezers and luckily got the wheel out.
What is your approach to discipline?I am strict and stern and expect children to listen to me, but I will always listen to them as well. If the child has been naughty, I will apply the correct punishment that the parents is comfortable with and when I am done punishing them, I will always tell them why they have been punished and tell them not to do it again. Give them a hug and tell them I am sorry for punishing them

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I´ll let him have his tantrum, let him scream and shout all he want, when he decides that he´s done, then I will punish him.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will tell them that it is wrong and take away the crayons from them and tell them to help me clean the walls.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will tell them if they don´t do their homework, they are not allowed to watch TV or play games or whatever they want to do instead of homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From 1 years old up until ten years old
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No I don´t
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I don´t have any children
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a Fun loving farm girl, I love the outdoors and animals, I am a very relaxed person who can get along with anybody. I am full of live and love working with children
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I love cooking as my mom owns restaurants.
BreakfastOmelette
LunchFish Fingers and chips
DinnerMeatballs, mash, peas and carrots
SnackApple
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, if I have a recipe, I´ll be able to cook it.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My dad is a farmer. We are very alike. My mother is a very good chef, had a few restaurants in her day. My brother is 3 years younger than me and is currently studying. He is also a very good rugby player.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.