Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nina

Personal Details

Reference # 201-26611
Name Nina
Nationality South African
Age 37
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English (1st), basic Afrikaans. could speak to a child in Afrikaans but not strong

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes (serviced: 2011, soon to be serviced)
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Volkswagan Citi Golf 2001
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2000

Education

Secondary Education
Collegiate Girls High School (Port Elizabeth)
Tertiary Education
Bachelor of Education (Foundation Phase) - Stellenbosch University-2004
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2012-Jo is my current Principal in my current job at SACS Pre-Primary.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I currently teach 25 five to six year old boys.
What were your duties?I am a full-time Grade R teacher from 7:30 until 3:30 pm daily. At the start of the day the children do drawing and construction games, then they can go outside to play or stay inside. After that it is circle time where we do absentees. then activities during the day which include numeracy, arts and crafts or resource activities. We also do a music or movement ring and groups do activities such as memory games. Literacy activities such as word building or rhyming are also played.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2011-December 2011 (Temporary Western Cape Education post) 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?26 learners in a co-educational environment 
What were your duties?Much more formal activities.All Foundation Phase subjects and General Sports(Grade 1),Mini-hockey, Mini-school (Extra lessons) 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2007-December2007 (Maternity contract) and April 2010 –December 2010 (Temporary WCED post) 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?32 learners in a co-educational environment; Smart Board 
What were your duties?Grade 2 Teacher:All Foundation Phase subjects including Phys Ed and Art and Swimming, Mini-Hockey, Mini-Cricket 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?7 and a half years teaching experience plus an extra 3 years babysitting experience before that.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I am a passionate teacher and haven always loved working with children. I am looking for week-end and holiday babysitting work to save extra money.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?I have babysat for a 3 month old. But most of my experience is with children 5 to 9 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy reading, cooking and exercising in my spare time.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love seeing children grow in independence and confidence and watching them gain new skills. It is wonderful to see them learning.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love doing educational games, counting/number games such dominoes, Uno and word games, puzzles and arts and crafts. I also really love reading stories to children and doing movement and music activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would try to stay calm. Assess the situation and act accordingly. I would eliminate all immediate dangers and then call emergency services if needed.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A child fell and cut his cheek open at a Holiday Art Club I was working at. I sat the child down, kept him calm and held the wound together, while applying pressure. We called his parents to take him to the Emergency for presumed stitches.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in setting clear boundaries from the beginning so children know where they stand and feel safe. I use a positive reinforcement approach with lots of praise for appropriate behaviour. I give children clear choices and consequences and always talk to them calmly and respectfully.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Every child is different and you get to know what works, but...If the child was safe and not hurting themselves or others I would initially ignore the tantrum. If the child stopped on his/her own I would praise them and distract them with an activity. If it didn´t stop I would tell them firmly and clearly that this is enough and they need to stop this behaviour. This often breaks the cycle. I would take them by the hand and calm them down with a story or similar calming activity.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would say "that´s not a good idea" lets clean that up. We would then clean it up together. I would then give them paper and ask them to draw me a beautiful picture on that.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would encourage them by saying "Lets do your homework together and then you can choose the game we play/book you want to read." I would try and make the homework fun.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I would prefer children from 5 to 9 years old. But I am open to children from 4 months old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I am currently teaching at SACS PRE-PRIMARY and therefore only looking for evening week-end and holiday babysitting.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a patient, caring and compassionate person.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled egg on toast/Oats
LunchSoup/Sandwiches/Salads
DinnerPasta/Stir fry/Soup/
SnackFruit/Biltong/Bran Muffins
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am 30 years old and got married in December 2011 to my long term boyfriend. We live in a flat in Kenilworth. He is one of 5 boys and grew up in Cape Town. I am one of 3. (Two boys and myself) and grew up in the Eastern Cape. My parents live in Port Elizabeth.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.