Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Kate

Personal Details

Reference # 201-26576
Name Kate
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English 1st, Afrikaans (basic)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes (serviced: 2011 Dec)
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Yaris, 2004 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
Milnerton High School
Tertiary Education

Diploma in Creative Brand Communications and Visual Design

Diploma in Marketing

Educare course covering First Aid & CPR; Basic Childcare; Development and Stimulation; Cooking and Nutrition

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2008-2009: Position: Assistant Teacher at Kids&Co. Playschool Reason for leaving: Finished studies and had to start internship at advertising agency
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?+-20 children for infant age up until 5 year old´s in playgroup. Juilette 7 years old.
What were your duties?Was au pair and then was offered the teaching position. Working as an assistant teacher as well as caring for babies when needed. Running fun, educational activities and supervising playtime. Changing nappies; preparing snacks. Taking them on outings and supervising mealtimes. Overall, ensuring that they had a fun-filled day!
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving

2007-2008 Position: Au pair

Reason for leaving: She no longer had the finances to employ a full-time au pair.

Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1, 3 year old little girl
What were your duties?Half-day position. Supervising playtime and organizing fun, educational activities for every day of the week. Taking and fetching her from playschool and preparing her meals. Taking her for walks to the park, doing arts and crafts with her, reading stories and and other fun, educational activities for early development. Creating a general daily routine ensuring she is happy and content.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving

March 2010-July 2010 Position: Au pair

Reason for leaving: Going overseas to work as a Youth Leader on board a Carnival Cruise Liner for a year.

Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1, 11 year old boy.
What were your duties?Fetching him from school; taking him to extra-murals; supervising homework and assisting when needed; preparing healthy meals; taking part in sporting games; being an ´older sister´ figure to him. Worked full day during holidays and organized play dates.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving

Nov 2010-Jan 2012 Position: Youth Staff on board Carnival Cruise Liner

Reason for leaving: Family circumstances

Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Anything from 6 kids to 50 kids infants from 3 up until 11 year olds
What were your duties?My job was running the Youth Programs on board. This entailed working with infants up until the age of 11 years old. Running activities with them, supervising mealtimes, handling parents, babysitting, ensuring the kid´s youth experience lives up to Company standards.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am          

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Over 6 years childcare experience.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started babysitting our family friends little ones and from there on my love for children just multiplied! I am interested in au pairing as I feel that it is an incredibly rewarding job to do.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?7 months old. Cruise liner
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do freelance graphic design work in my spare time. I also enjoy making arts and crafts, painting, swimming, running, photography, hiking, baking and reading. I enjoy anything that is active and creative!
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child’s life?The fact that every day brings a new opportunity for a child to learn something that will shape the way they think and behave, or simply to add a smile to their face. It is incredibly rewarding to form such an important role in a child's life, as is the pure joy and love that they give one back.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Arts and crafts, constructive play, outdoor activities-whether, it be a walk to the park or swimming in the swimming pool, its always great to get children outdoors and into the fresh air! Baking, music activities, reading.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Immediately tend to the child. Access the situation. If there are no hazards, call the parents as well as emergency line if needed. If it is just a simple case that requires medical attention such as a bandage, use the fist aid kit in their home. If it is a more severe case such as the child has stopped breathing or is choking, I am equipped with the knowledge to administer CPR/Heimlich Manoeuvre for infant/child until the ambulance has arrived.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Whilst working abroad, as part of the Youth staff on board a Cruise Liner: We had a 2 year old case where she was ADHD and had messed her diaper so badly that it had gone all the way up her back. When I took her to the changing room she was shaking with anxiety and unable to fit on our changing table due to her abnormal size. I proceeded to continuously calm her and had to change her standing up, whilst parents were waiting at the gate. Once she was clean, I took her to her parents and they were incredibly grateful, only then explaining to us that she was ADHD.
What is your approach to discipline?Always consult the parents to find out what their approach is to disciplining their child/children. I find that simply raising ones voice to a stern manner of authority generally works, or the taking away of privileges.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Go down to their level. Find out why they are throwing a tantrum. Tell them why for example they can't play with that object (too sharp) and let them calm down. If they do not calm down after 5 minutes, distraction often works.(for example: give them another toy to play with, show them what the dog is up to outside etc.) Once they have calmed down give them a great big hug!
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Once again, go down to their level, so that you are eye-to-eye with them. Give them the reason why what they are doing is not allowed. Then give them a great big piece of paper to draw on and join in! Clean the wall together and make it a fun activity!
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Find out what the reason is that they do not want to complete their homework. Explain to them why it is better to do their homework now, as they will have more time to play afterwards. Also, offer my guidance and help with the homework if needed. If this does not work, use a stern voice and threaten to call mom/dad.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Infant to 5 year old´s.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes-Occasional babysitting of an 18 month old little boy.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a bubbly, outgoing and loving person with a gentle nature and cheerful disposition. I always try to find the positive in a situation and a zest for life! I am a highly compassionate individual who is trustworthy and reliable. I have a mature approach to life and am able to think on my feet in any given situation.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastPorridge/cereal/toast
LunchSandwich/boiled eggs/toast/fruit salad
DinnerPasta/stir-fry/chicken/fish
SnackSandwich/smoothie
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Steak/lasagne
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are from Dutch descent. I have a mom, whom I live with and love very much. One sister in Holland whom I absolutely adore and miss! I have two half brothers in London, whom I am still getting to know and family in New Zealand+Australia.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.