Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Anchen

Personal Details

Reference # 201-26505
Name Anchen
Nationality South African
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes (serviced: 2011)
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Carolla 1300, 1998
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
Overberg High, Caledon
Tertiary EducationEducare N3, completed
First aid TrainingNo 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2006 1 October- 2011 October5 years, I got married and was going to move over seas.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?When I started it was just a 3 month old girl, 2 years later another girl was born and 2 and a half years after her another girl was born. I left when she was 3 moths old.
What were your duties?Caring for the kids the whole day, preparing their meals, doing their washing, organizing their rooms, picking and dropping them off at school, taking them on outings, shopping for the mommy, running errands for the family, getting them into a routine and caring for the 3 cats.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?5 years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My mother use to have a daycare centre and I was always around helping and enjoyed doing it since I was in primary school. I worked for her for a while as she closed the centre because she started teaching at a primary school.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Since birth, when mommy and baby came home from the hospital.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Visit friends and family, go shopping and spend time with my animals, as I grew up on a farm. I have 15 cats and 9 dogs, exotic birds, sheep and horses.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?The smaller things are important to me, like when they smile, walk or talk for the first time. How happy they are when they see me. How loved and special they make you feel. They way they depend on you for everything. I just love being around children.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Educational outings like going to parks, taking them to see things they have not seen before. I once took the children I was looking after horse back riding as they had not even seen a horse.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depends on the situation, but if it is very serious I will call for an ambulance and let the parents know exactly what happened. I will try and keep the child calm until help arrives.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I had dropped the oldest on off and school and had to go back to fetch my wallet for groceries. The car did not have central locking so when I took my hand off the handle the door locked. I didn't know what else to do as the child was crying and it was a hot day so I broke the window so that I could open the door from the inside to get the child out. The child was in her car seat and couldn't unlock the door for me.
What is your approach to discipline?Routine, routine, routine. I am very firm when it comes to rules and discipline. I don´t do well with being manipulated and keep to what mommy and/or daddy wants. I find routine sets clear boundaries so children know what is and is not allowed.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Give a time out in their room.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Speak to him/her about what he is doing and explain that it is wrong and why. If it happens again a punishment like having no sweets or television for a day.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?No friends, no t.v. and they must explain it to mom/ dad.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?0 - 12 years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very energetic, talkitive and friendly. I do discipline very well and like to follow routines.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal or toast and eggs
LunchSandwiches with fruits and juice
DinnerLasagne and salad
SnackYogurt, fruits or ice cream
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I grew up on a farm, where both my parents still live and work. I have 2 brothers and one sister. We are all still very much involved in each others lives.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.