Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Elana

Personal Details

Reference # 201-26484
Name Elana
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st), English (1st) (bilingual)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes (serviced: Nov 2011)
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Nissan Micra (2nd hand)
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
Westville Girls´ High School (KZN)
Tertiary Education
I am in my fourth year of B.Dietetics at the University of Pretoria. (Dietician)
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2009 Nov-Feb/2010 Nov-Feb/ 2011 Nov- Feb. (1 year total) It is my holiday job and will work there again at the end of this year.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Classroom or individually. Male and female children, between the ages of 13-18.
What were your duties?Invigilating during exams and tests. Aiding children with physical injuries or who have difficulties concentrating in large groups to write exams. Doing activity sessions during class and watching over classes in the absence of teachers. Also during exam time there are study sessions which I sometimes help with.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria North
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Three years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved through a family friend who is the head mistress at Crawford La Lucia High School who gave me a holiday job. My mother is a teacher and I'm a student and I need to pay my own living expenses.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Two years old (family) 13 years old (professional)
  
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?No other jobs. I study dietetics, I am interested in sport, swimming, netball, water polo, and do crafts, painting, drawing, in my spare time.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Seeing them learn and develop into fine individuals
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing games, dolls, drawing, playing with balls outside, swimming, watching television, reading stories. Anything they want to do.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Firstly I´ll remove the object causing the danger, I´ll check that the child is in a stable condition, I´ll call the relevant contact person, emergency staff and the police if necessary.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The child threw a tantrum because it wanted a sweet before dinner and I handled it by calmly deal with the situation. I did not raise my voice and calmly explain to the child why they couldn't have the sweet before dinner and distracted them.
What is your approach to discipline?Being calm and letting the child understand what they did was wrong. I don´t raise my voice and I don´t give hidings.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?By calmly dealing with the situation. I do not raise my voice and calmly explain to the child what they did wrong and distract them with another activity.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain what they did is wrong, remove the crayons, give the child paper to write/draw on and sit and draw with them.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Give the child something to look forward to , like playing a game, telling a story or watching a program.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?ages 3-16
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Crawford La Lucia High School during the holidays (in Durban). No other place.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a fun, outgoing person who likes the outdoors, being creative and reading.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs, cereal
LunchSandwiches
DinnerPasta dishes, salads
Snackyoghurt, fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mom and older sister are teachers. My mother teaches physical science for high school children and my sister teaches English and Afrikaans for primary school. My dad runs a guest house. I have a lot of family members on either side of my parents and so there are a lot of small children who I have often babysat and looked after.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.