Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tarryn

Personal Details

Reference # 201-26328
Name Tarryn
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Engaged
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes expired
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes (serviced: 2012)
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Fiat Panda 1.1 Activ, 2009
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2010

Education

Secondary Education
Wynberg Girls high school
Tertiary Education
1-year completed at AAA school of advertising for Graphic design
First aid TrainingYes (expired, did it during high school)

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2010 on and off for about a year. Traveling cost
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Girls: 10 13
What were your duties?Supervised homework. Chatted to them. Maybe played a few games. Mother took care of supper as she is a chef. I just supervised.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2005-current: on and off at the start and then it got more frequent.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 child: 1 year and a half boy who is now 9
What were your duties?Swam with him. Sometimes would help with dinner or get take-away. Played tv games and sometimes put him to bed.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2011 Oct-current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Twins: two years old. Boy and a girl
What were your duties?Generally every Thursday (Date Night). Start at 5:30pm. Play with the children. Make dinner, Do bathing and put them to bed.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Part Time
Negotiable
Full Time
Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?4 years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved in child care when I would babysit occasionally whilst I was still in high school for family friends or from recommendations of family/ friends and continued ever since part-time. I love children, so love being around them playing but being a role model at the same time. They are full of joy and laughter which bring so much light to things and for me is always amazing to be around. 
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I enjoy relaxing and reading as well as (weather permitting) being outdoors. When I do have the time I enjoy road running or getting involved in sports as well. I do still look after one family's children once a week (every Thursday). 
What is the age of the youngest child you have worked with at this point?
Newborn and besides my own a 9-month old was the youngest
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love all the sweet, cute things children say, even if they don't quite understand why what they had said had been funny or sweet at the time but that they say things that come to mind and speak openly. I also love how they are so care-free and wonderful to be around with smiles and laughs and wild imaginations (which adults could learn from children). Being part of a child's life is one of the most amazing feelings of being wanted or loved unconditionally. You get to help them through tough moments in their life that adults have been through and can then apply their knowledge to the children. You get to be imaginative and get all dirty with a proper excuse and be a person a child can look up to. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy a wide variety of activities, depending on what the child's or childrens' personal interests are. Examples include: Reading (which can include for younger children counting and image recognition of animals, objects etc.), puzzles, painting, drawing, outdoor activities (soccer, hockey, made-up games, hide and seek), cooking/ baking, Riding bicycles, swimming and many more. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the type of emergency, I would first keep calm and make sure the child/ children are alright and calm, then immediately contact the relevant department that deals with that specific emergency e.g. police, ambulance etc. I would then contact the parents immediately after to explain the scenario to them. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have never actually had an extremely bad situation that I have encountered with a child. The only situation that comes to mind would be when a child was sick and vomiting, I took their temperature, made sure they felt comfortable and had enough liquids to keep them hydrated. I called the parents to see what they would like me to do and then proceeded with their wishes. Such as giving certain required medication. 
What is your approach to discipline?My approach is being firm when necessary but completely calm. Placing in a "time-out" or having a "naughty-corner" where the child is sent if being naughty, but I would explain and make the child understand why he/she was being naughty to receive such punishment. An alternative is also taking a desired toy away from child until the child starts behaving appropriately at which time the toy is given back. Once again communication is very important so that the child always understands why something was taken away. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would simply walk away from the tantrum, ignoring it as then the child soon learns that by having a tantrum is not the way in which he/she will get something that they want. Or place the child in "time-out" as this is then a quiet place where the child can then calm down by himself/herself and also shows the child that it is not acceptable or naughty behavior. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would tell the child to stop drawing immediately as it is naughty and then get the child to give me the drawing material (rather than snatch it away) so that they understand why they are not allowed to draw on the wall and realize that they can't do it again without crying or screaming because something was just taken away from them and they don't understand why. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try make the homework as fun as possible but also explain the importance of homework and school which would encourage the child rather than be dispondant about homework. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age from 1 and a half to 16 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes I still work for Aileen and Gary Lamb which is my regular Thursday evening family. 
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, 2013
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would say I am a positive, fun and caring individual who is very soft natured but energetic enough to run around and have fun with kids. I enjoy spending quality time with friends and family. I am also a very hard working and determined person who likes to get things done on time and really dislikes being late. I am a very calm person so I don't get "worked-up" about things very easily. I am an animal lover, and have 2 cats of my own (both rescued). I am very artistic hence my currently studying at AAA school of advertising in Cape Town. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes I can.
BreakfastCereal/ french toast/ muesli or fruit and yoghurt/ omlette 
LunchSandwhich (plain or toasted)/chicken nuggets/ fish fingers with chips or vegetables 
DinnerSpaghetti bolonaise/ macaroni and cheese/ wraps with various fillings/ chicken or beef stripes with vegetables and mashed potato 
SnackSandwhich/salty crackers with cheese or bread spread on/ fruit & yoghurt 
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No 
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a wonderfully close family (aunts and cousins included), so close we all stay round the corner from each other, by chance actually. They are all very supportive in all of my en-devours and when someone is in need, we are all always there for them no matter what. I have a small but close-knit family and I wouldn't wish for it any other way. My immediate family is a bit split up at the moment just due to working areas and we all grown-up so my older siblings (1 brother and 1 sister) both out of the house and working. My mother and father are divorced, (stay with my mom) I was very young when that happened so never been a problem for me as I grew up like that.  

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.