Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Melissa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-26294
Name Melissa
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes (Serviced: 2012)
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Volkswagen Citi Golf Charcoal colour1998-model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
Durbanville High School
Tertiary Education
Midrand Graduate Institute - BCom Degree in Tourism and Travel Management
First aid TrainingYes, I completed a Level 1 course through the National First Aid Academy. (Expiring 11/6/2015)

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2006 - 2011 Relocated to Johannesburg from Cape Town once every two-three weeks
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One Girl of 5/6-10 years
What were your duties?Evening sitting. 6/7pm-11/12pm Feeding, bathing, entertaining such as movies/games/puzzles and putting the child to bed.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2006 - 2011 Relocated to Johannesburg from Cape Town once very two weeks
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Three Children; One boy aged 3 months, two girls aged 2 and 4 years.
What were your duties?Preparing meals, feeding, playing, bathing, changing diapers. Sometimes would pick up the kids from school and take extra murals.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
MIDRAND
Midrand

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been babysitting on and off for two families for approximately five years. Since 2007.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I became involved by babysitting the children of our family friends. I am interested because I love children, I enjoy looking after them and having fun with them.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?A little boy aged 3 months.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy reading, cooking, being outdoors and spending time with my family and friends.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I mostly enjoy giving love and attention while spending time with the child and learning to know the little person and watching him or her grow into an individual.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading stories, playing games, building puzzles, painting, drawing and colouring, watching movies and swimming.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Firstly I would assess the severity of the emergency and based on that I would dial the appropriate emergency number for assistance and call the parents of the child and inform them of what is happening. If the child is injured, I would obtain the consent of the parents and take him or her to the nearest hospital immediately if it is safe to do so, or call the family doctor for instructions.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Tantrums... I would first try to calm the child by speaking to him or her and finding out what it is that has upset them and why it has upset them so. If the child calms down and clarifies the situation to me, I would explain to him or her that when he or she does not tell me why they are upset, I can not do anything about it, but when they explain to me what has upset them, we can talk about it and we can try to solve the problem together.
What is your approach to discipline?When a child is naughty or disobedient I would tell him or her in a firm voice that what they are doing, or how they are behaving is not acceptable at all. I would give them a ´time out´ and afterwards give him or her a hug, ask them if they understand why I gave them a ´time out´, and discuss or explain to them why their behaviour was not acceptable. Additionally, I would discuss the matter of discipline with the parents of the child, and ask them how they would prefer me to discipline the child.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try to calm the child by speaking to him or her and asking them to explain to me what it is that has upset them. If this does not work I would quietly sit in the same room until he or she has calmed down and ask him or her to explain to me what it was that upset them, and I would in turn explain to them that I can not understand what is wrong unless he or she explains it to me calmly instead of becoming upset and throwing a tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would firmly tell the child that what he or she is doing is wrong, and that it is not respectful. I would have the child help me clean the wall and afterwards hug and thank them for helping me, but also ask them if they think drawing on a wall is good behaviour and explain to them that he or she should not do it again.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain to the child why it is important to do his or her homework and propose a way in which we could make the homework more fun and complete it together. I would also explain that all children have to do homework and that once the homework is done, he or she could do something that they enjoy.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am especially comfortable working with babies and toddlers but I am also comfortable working with older children.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, when I am in Cape Town I still look after the children of both families if they have need of me.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a caring, empathetic, loving and trustworthy person. I love having fun, meeting new people and seeing new places.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled or fried eggs with viennas and toast, Porridge or Cereal, Omelettes, Flapjacks
LunchToasted sandwiches, Cold meat and cheese sandwiches, Hot dogs, Couscous salad, Wraps; with a fruit and or a yoghurt
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaise, Fish fingers or Bangers and potato and butternut mash with peas, Chicken casserole with veggies and rice, Cottage pie with carrots, Nachos, Pizza
SnackYoghurt, apple slices, grapes, muffins
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents are divorced, I am an only child and my mother and I live together. I am very close to my mother´s side of the family, I have 5 cousins who are like brothers to me. The two youngest cousins are 3 and 5 and I love spending time with them.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.