Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Glynis

Personal Details

Reference # 201-2610
Name Glynis
Nationality South African
Age 55
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English & Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?

No - (completed Grade 10)

4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Year - 1997 Model - Toyota
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?22 years

Education

Secondary EducationGr10 - Bridgetown High School
Tertiary EducationNo
First aid TrainingYes
Other trainingChild Care & Nutrition

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving1999- 2002  Better job offer.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Twins - Girls & 1 Boy (3 Kids in total.)
What were your duties?Caring for the the children & there daily needs. Prepare lunches for there, formula prep, changing of nappies etc, cleaning their rooms.
Your comments on the experience with this positionGood experience as it was my first time working with new born twins. This was my first job as an Au pair. The mother had depression, she basically allowed me to do what I wanted to do whit them. This was a great experience.

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingNovember 2001-May 2003 -  Family went through financial difficulties
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Twins New born - boys
What were your duties?Seeing to their needs, preparing formula, chaining nappies, cleaning their rooms changing their clothes, took them out to activities, arranged play dates etc.
Your comments on the experience with this positionVery nice and relaxed family. I really enjoyed working with the two little boys

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2003 - 2005 -  There was a couple of things that weren't according to plan, there were a couple of miss understandings. I had permission to go to Germany and when I returned that same day they called me to go work
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 New born and 1 Toddler
What were your duties?I was a little more active with this family, I used to take the kids to extra mural, do homework with them etc
Your comments on the experience with this positionBut further more I really enjoyed working with this family. 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm            
12pm-6pm            
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children & felt its my passion to pursue in that career.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born twins.
What activities are you involved in?Sunday School teacher.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Hobbies are baking & walking on the mountain.
What are your interests?Reading
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Watching them grow & learn new things daily.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Baking & outdoor activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Stay calm & think before doing anything
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A baby stopped breathing, I then kept the baby upside down & tapped her on her back.
What is your approach to discipline?Sending them to time out

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Leave the child to get over it.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Give them paper to draw on and clean it together
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Time-out on all the thing the child like.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Babies
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?None
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?3 children Ages 27, 24, 20
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Always looking for something to do, very friendly, love people.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats and honey
LunchSandwich and  juice
DinnerMash and grilled fish
SnackBiscuits and cheese
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.Very close family. 2 brothers & 2 Sisters & father.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.