Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Stacy-Lee

Personal Details

Reference # 201-25764
Name Stacy-Lee
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Opel Corsa lite 1.3
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
Fish Hoek Senior High - 2007
Tertiary Education
Completed 1 year of a Degree in Business Management - London (After the first year I found it was too expensive. I also found I really enjoy and prefer working with children)
First aid TrainingYes, I did a course through St Johns in 2008, I do need to do a refresher course.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving3 years moved back to South Africa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?5 children boy-10 boy-2 boy-7 girl-9 boy-11
What were your duties?All duties relating to the care and well-being of the children. I worked for them from 8am to 7h30pm, Monday to Friday. I worked over weekends occasionally or full time when both parents were away. duties included insuring they had breakfast, cycling to school, I would cycle with all of them, I would do the shopping, plan their play dates for the week, picking the youngest up at 12h00, take him to extra murals, pick up the older children. I would prepare dinner for the kids. I loved them very much and thoroughly enjoyed working for this family!
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2003 - 2008: I was just assisting while in school.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 Children, 6 years old, 4  years old , 2 years old and new born.
What were your duties?I would assist in the evenings, looking after the 4 and 2 year old. I would come after dinner, get them to bath, get them changed into pj's, read them a story and put them to bed. I also  assisted with occasional babysitting and as they got older homework.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?9 years, I  have been involved in childcare since junior school.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I find working with children a very rewarding and fulfilling job, and it is a wonderful and fun working environment.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for? New born
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?My hobbies are definitely exercise, such as sports, running and I also do enjoy baking.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy watching them develop and grow and it is wonderful to be able to teach them things.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Swimming , baking, and arts and crafts which is a great way to incorporate learning skills. And, of course, outings, which children love.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If it was only involving one of the children I would remove the other children from the situation and either fix the problem myself (if it was minor) or I would call emergency services.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?On a play date one of the children could not breath (not due to choking) we took the child outside into the fresh cold air and the drizzle shocked her into taking a gasp . After we took the child down to a&e to make sure she was okay . I was calm and collected , it was a good learning curb to see how I would react in such a situation and I held it together.
What is your approach to discipline?I am very firm but fair and still fun. I do not tolerate rudeness and bad manners I make use of the normal steps to good discipline such as naughty step, star charts, missing out on puddings, etc

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Pick them up and place them on the naughty step explaining why you have placed them there and keep placing them back on the step until they have calmed themselves down. I use the 1 minute per year ratio.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Firm conversation explaining that its naughty -then making him/her cleaning, removing the drawings from the wall -taking the crayons away for a given time period.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?You make it fun try to put in place a reward program at the end of the week for always getting his homework done such as picking a Friday night treat or generally taking something away from them such as TV does the trick.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All age groups I prefer babies and toddlers but have worked with all ages up to teens.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a fun, bubbly and outgoing person. I love to be outdoors doing things and keeping busy. Baking and crafts are one of my strong points and I enjoy doing them.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOmelettes , scrambled / fried egg
LunchVegetable fried rice / or simple sandwich
DinnerHome made tuna fish cakes/mash and veg
SnackFruit/ raisins
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Seafood (I will cook fish but am inexperienced with preparing shellfish)
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am from a small family. I have one older sister, 28, and both parents still married and happy. I have a wonderful family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.