Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Ada

Personal Details

Reference # 201-25656
Name Ada
Nationality South African
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Englich(1st), Afrikaans(1st), Zulu(Conversational)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2004 Ford Fiesta
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?January 2006

Education

Secondary Education
Pietermaritzburg Girls High School - 2004.
Tertiary Education

UCT- Bachelor of Sciences in Chemical, Molecular and Cellular sciences(majors in Genetics and Human Physiology)-2005 - 2007

UCT - Post Graduate Certificate in Education (Maths teacher) -2008 - 2009

Witwatersrand - Bachelor of science in Physiotherapy (currently in 3rd year) -2010 - Present

First aid TrainingYes, I completed a Level 1 at Medical Minds, expiring 11/4/2013.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started in 2010 - current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Child, a 11 year old girl when I started.
What were your duties?I started as her full time Au-pair, I now do Tutor her and sometimes do driving for them as well. On an average day, I would fetch her from school, take her home, give her lunch, make sure she eats it, do homework with her and take her to extra murals or to friends. I also did Physiotherapy exercises with her. She has a curve in her spine and goes to a Physiotherapist for it, he gives her exercises to do at home and I had to oversee the exercises. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI assisted them in 2011 for almost a year, they then moved to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Child, an 11 year old girl when I started.
What were your duties?I picked her up from school, gave her lunch, did her homework with her and take her to extra murals. i also did baby-sitting for them when needed.
Uncontactable
 

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI started in October 2011 - current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Child, an 11 year old boy when I started.
What were your duties?I go there every afternoon, do his homework with him and Tutor him in Maths.
Current 

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingI assisted them for 3 months June - August 2012, they went back to the USA.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, 2 years old.
What were your duties?The family was here from the USA for business. I mostly assisted them in the evening with baby-sitting. I prepared his dinner for him and made sure he ate it. Relax and play with him for a bit. He is very intelligent for a 2 year old, he would count with cards and speak French. I sometimes had to bath him and then get him to bed and be there if he should wake up.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been caring for children since 2005.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started tutoring and au-pairing as a student. I have continued to further my studies and am still au-pairing and tutoring. This application is aimed at babysitting due to my busy varsity timetable, I am really only free in the evenings. I have a passion for working with children and hope to go into Paediatrics . I feel that it is a Win-win situation in working with children and I still get to give thoughts to studies and to children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?I babysat an 6 month old baby last year. And have worked with all ages since then.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I Au-pair for a 13 year old boy during the day, I focus on my studies, I enjoy spending time with my brother who is in JHB and I enjoy swimming. I love socialising with my friends, I play the guitar and social hockey in a social team with my friends.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like to get to know them individually and then to build a relationship. I love being able to teach them new things every day. They are innocent and have an incredible ability to learn fast which I find fascinating and equally rewarding. It keeps me young.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Depends on the age group, but ranges from reading, sporting things outdoors, swimming, board games/fun exercises indoors. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depends on the emergency. But I have first Aid qualifications so I would start with doing what I can to help the child. I would call a medical emergency/ambulance immediately, and then the child's parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have been lucky enough to never have a medical emergency. I think just experiencing a child being extremely home sick and crying for their parents to return. In this situation, I just sat with the child, distracting him by playing games and entertaining him, and constantly consoling him with the fact that their parents are returning soon. This seemed to help a lot:)
What is your approach to discipline?I am firm because I have learned that children push boundaries where they can, so I have learnt to be firm, but not mean and bossy as this breaks their trust. NO physical discipline! Also, I would listen to the boundaries that the parents have set(e.g.: bed time) and be sure to maintain these boundaries. Depends on the parents as well. No is no.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Establish that the tantrum is just a tantrum and that they are not actually in any physical distress! I would show attention but not linger on and show that I am bothered by their tantrum. So I would acknowledge that they are upset and show attention, however try and distract them as much as possible< and show them that tantrums are not what is going to get them what they want all the time.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Correct them immediately and explain that is wrong and not acceptable. I would then tell them I am going to tell their parents and then leave them to handle the discipline from there on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try as much as possible to get them to do their work. if they refuse entirely, i would handle as above.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from 6 months old and up.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I currently Au-pair a 13 year old boy in the afternoons, hence I am interested in babysitting positions.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a fun, sociable person that tries to maintain a balance between my social life and my degree. I am eager to continue my degree and qualify so that I can start working at a hospital and then finally move onto Paediatrics at a private clinic. So I am also disciplined and serious when I need to be.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastBoiled eggs on toast
LunchFish fingers and mashed potatoes with side salad
DinnerChicken a´la King with rice
SnackFruit or Provitas and cheese
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have 2 brothers, one is 26, he lives in JHB and the other is 22, he lives in KZN with my parents. My Mom and Dad lives in Pietermaritzburg and is also working, they are farmers. I am from a very close family and visit home as often as I can in my holidays.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.