Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lisa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-25514
Name Lisa
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Suzuki Swift 1.5 2008
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2008

Education

Secondary EducationMaragon Private (JHB) - 2008  
Tertiary Education

1 year course in interior design in 2009,

In 2010 I started at UCT.

BA degree in Fine Art - 2013,

First aid TrainingYes, however I will be redoing it, as it has expired.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2011 to Present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 child, aged 18 months when I started and since I have been assisting they had another child, so I have cared for his once so far.
What were your duties? Evening babysitting, entertaining for a bit and then assisting in bed time routines. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJan 2013 to present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl , aged 6 when I started.
What were your duties? I assist with babysitting. I assist with dinner, feeding her, bath time, reading, bed time routines, entertaining her and occasionally I assist with daytime duties as well. Going on outings etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I did some babysitting people and really enjoy it, I know it sounds cliche but I really do love kids, I also find it rewarding and gratifying to know that I am assisting the parents and giving them peace of mind and some often, much needed time off. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?18 month old boy.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I work part time at an art and antique store in Wynberg. I love being creative, I love being outdoors, especially swimming, I sow my own clothes on occasion and am extremely creative at home.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love the feeling of 'family' one gauges when caring for a child. I love the relationship of trust that develops and I enjoy seeing a child develop new interests or develop old ones further. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Painting and reading. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would attend to the child as far as possible, either call an ambulance or drive the child to the hospital and then call the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I was caring for a child where the child woke up and panicked,I held her, rocked her and sang to her until she calmed down. 
What is your approach to discipline?I would have to ask the parents guidance.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would use distraction with the child and try to take their mind off the issue.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?It would be dependent on the parents. If they are very strict, I would  assist the child to clean it and tell them about it later.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain that I am here to help the child and that she should utilize my skills to assist her. Otherwise I would use removal of privileges to try and encourage the child to comply. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with all ages.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I do occasional babysitting for both my old CT based families.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very soft and sensitive, I am friendly and a bit of a people pleaser. I am very creative, I like to think in different ways. I'm also a bit of a perfectionist. I am very caring.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs, sausage, and toast or french toast
LunchSmall portion of spaghetti and meat balls, or chicken breast and chips, or a hamburger.
DinnerFish cakes and salad, bangers and mash, steamed or roast veggies. Steak and mushrooms. Etc.
SnackFruit, or a sandwich with cheese and tomato
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are still married and live in JHB. I have a younger sister who stays with my parents. My dad is an electrical engineer and has a company with a partner. My mom is a retired nurse.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.