Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Esme

Personal Details

Reference # 201-25502
Name Esme
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) and Afrikaans (fluent)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Opel Corsa 2005 model 2 door hatchback
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
Completed my Matric through Damelin correspondence - 2007.
Tertiary Education
Diploma - Early Childhood Development - The College of Modern Montessori - 2008.
First aid TrainingNo, but planning to do a course as soon as I am in Cape Town.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started in September 2010 - March 2012, my Visa expired
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 2 children, a boy and a girl 3 years old and 7 months old.
What were your duties?This was a live-in position. I would wake them up (Monday - Friday), prepared all their meals, packed lunch for Sam and snacks. I would arrange fun activities and outings, play dates and any other extra murals. General upkeep of house hold as well as laundry and light house work. Keeping stock of supplies and food. Being available to school for help with volunteering and extra curricular things. driving/walking to and from school (pick up and drop off) potty training Sadie and stimulating her. Summer school with Sam during Summer holiday. Bath, dinner, set table, eat dinner. Live in position. I got along with the family, no issues.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving 2008-2009 . Went overseas
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 2 girls, 12 and 14.
What were your duties?

School drop off's and pick ups

Home work and project assistance

Extra curricular transport and logistics

Making dinner

  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving1 April 2009 - 31 May 2009, short term arrangement, I went overseas.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after a 3 year old girl.
What were your duties?There were 2 of us looking after their 2 children, my main responsibility was the 3 year old girl. The family moved from Cape Town, I had to teach her and get her ready for school, bath her and played with her.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingI started end of 2007 - end of 2008
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Classes of children, ages 2-4 years old.
What were your duties?I gave classes to the 4 year olds, we did a theme for the week, I did lessons with them and age appropriate work. I also taught the 5-6 year olds. I had to do Bathroom duty - potty training, assisted with lunch, nap times etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have childcare experience since 2006.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I was visiting a friend of mine who was doing her practical hours for her teaching degree and her boss/supervisor called me aside and told me I had a talent and gift with children and really should consider it!
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was 7 months old. (formal childcare). Newborn (family)
  
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like to keep active and explore my surroundings. I am adventurous and like to learn new things all the time. I try read as often as possible to keep up with current issues in my line of interest - Science, biology,psychology, little bit of sport and childcare/teaching. I like to cook and bake and experiment with food. I love music and try go out to shows. see friends and be social - I like to entertain.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?My mother (a teacher of 30 years) once told me - the more challenging the child/job the more rewarding the outcome will be. Being able to be part of and educate these young minds really is a great responsibility and I take pride in the fact that their parents have bestowed this upon me - shaping young minds to be kind, considerate, mindful and intelligent little beings is my passion.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love doing art, languages, music and free play. I like to incorporate art,music and play into one super fun activity. Being adventurous and learning about our environment in fun ways.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would quickly asses the situation and contact the relevant people. depending on the situation. *this is a very important topic for me to thoroughly discuss with parents to make absolutely sure we are on the same page when it comes to their expectations of me in emergencies.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Honestly, I have never had a too trying time with any of the children I have cared for - the usual ups and downs, I take in my stride. the biggest "hurdle" I have had was lack of support when it comes to discipline I sat down with the parents and suggested we be completely on a united front (mom had said that she would prefer me not to discipline little boy) but, he had become abusive towards me and very disrespectful and I felt unsupported.
What is your approach to discipline?I am stern, but loving and nurturing, children need to know their boundaries. I am a strong believer in freedom within boundaries. I try to discipline by example - I want children to feel confidant, independent and proud. Children thrive when they know you are in control but, they have room to breathe

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Being two years old is really such a difficult time for children, they are just starting to realise their need for independence and their need to exert it in any way - While I believe in being supportive and making them feel "heard" I am also still very firm. If it is something unsafe or dangerous then I will not allow it. I will remove the child from the "trigger" . I believe this is also such an integral age for social skills and learning how to handle disappointment in life as well as how to deal with people in an appropriate way when you are frustrated (this really is the best time to learn these valuable life skills)
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?At 5 years old you know its wrong to draw on the walls. I will enforce a 5 minute time out - prefixing it with "You know we do not draw on walls, we need to respect and take pride in our homes and follow the household rules. That was a bad choice to draw on the wall." when the 5 minutes is up I will go to the child and ask them if they understand what just happened and why. and then when all is said and done I will tell the child that now we should go clean the walls and after that offer to do a fun activity sans "wall decorations" ;)
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Again, this is a tough time for children - the novelty of being in school is starting to/already worn off and they need some sort of inspiration from time to time. In order to prevent these fights I like to let children come home, have a snack and some time to be active before we start homework. after that if there is still a problem I will ask what is actually going on - are you tired/sick/lazy or are you not understanding the work? I enjoy homework time - because I like to learn and this has proved a great motivator in the past - it tends to rub off on the children. Each case is different and I handle it accordingly boys will be boys and would rather run around and play in the dirt than sit behind a desk and work - in those cases "bribery goes a long way" in the form of extra outside time or a fun activity of their choice when they finish their home work.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from 18 months old up to 7 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I love routines and structure but, I do have a spontaneous side. I am fun loving, supportive and very affectionate. I am affable, polite and very considerate.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastApple, wheatbix, glass of milk or some cheese
Lunch (hot days) frozen peas, yoghurt, a slice or two of watermelon, a sandwich with a preferred filling (usually a cold meat or protein of some sort)
DinnerMashed carrots and potatoes with chicken and some salad
SnackCheese and crackers with some grapes/fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Nope
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are a happy, blended (divorced) family. We are very supportive of each other, funny and active

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.