Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Abigail

Personal Details

Reference # 201-25352
Name Abigail
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st) & Afrikaans (2nd) ( basic), French (basic)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Fiesta 2004
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedn/a
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2004

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend high schoolSt Mary´s DSG. Kloof, KwaZulu Natal 2004
What was your pass rate for Matric68%
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?Yes, Silwood Cordon Bleu School of Cookery, Wines of the World - Wine Academy, Nutrition, French (basic), City and Guilds - British Examination
First aid TrainingYes, I have completed a course through the Resuscitation Council of South Africa in 2010. (CPR Orientation).

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJan 2011 to December 2011, 11 months, the family moved back to America.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?6 year old girl
What were your duties?I would start at  13h30 daily from school taking her to extra murals, play therapy, OT, hockey, netball, swimming and diving. I would prepare lunch for her and we would do chores.We would go on outings and take her puppy for walks. I would prepare dinner, feed her, bath her and put her to bed. I then made sure her bags and school lunch  were packed for the next day. We did homework daily. She had difficulty with fine motor skills when I started but this improved over the year. I would work on Sundays for them as well.I enjoyed Janice's company and we got on very well generally speaking. We did clash  a few times with regards to parenting as she was not very involved in her child's parenting but overall I loved the family and enjoyed the position.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingBabysitting, continual working relationship since March 2008.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?The little girl was 1 when I started and they had a little boy in 2011. I have had sole care of them both, the boy from the age of 6 months though.
What were your duties?Basic babysitting duties. I normally get to them at about 6pm if they need me. I have been responsible for feeding, changing the diapers, prepping their food, cleaning bottles, and preparing other bottles. I have bathed the older child before but not the younger. Putting the children to bed. We have become friends and I just enjoy being with them as a family ( with my family not being in Cape Town). We have become very close.
Do you know the applicant? Yes

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2010 to January 2011. Bigger job opportunity with Janice
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 1 boy, age 18 months.
What were your duties?I would start  8h30 am, and leave by 13h30. There was no TV allowed. Play educational games, working on fine motor development, drawing, growing vegetables. Playing in the garden. I took him to gymboree once a week. He was a very intellect child and I had to be creative with the activities we did. I also changed nappies, took him to extra activities, put him down for mid-morning nap and was responsible for feeding him. I got on very well with Carrie. She is a family friend and I hadn't seen her in 10 years when I started. It was coincidental that she was looking for an au pair when I was looking for an au pairing position. We are still friends.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingThe family moved back to Netherlands.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, 1 year old.
What were your duties?Changing nappies, feeding him, putting him to bed, Take him to the park, indoor play areas and I also did light cleaning.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

 

 

Full timeI started my own business and will confirm availability in Feb 2013
art timeneg.

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started caring for children in 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I studied cooking as I loved it but over the years and coming into contact with more children. I worked at a boutique hotel, and ran their restaurant. The people who lived across the road would come over with their daughter. I would end up playing with her ignoring my responsibilities in the kitchen and eventually realised that I should probably look at being involved with childcare. I now have a passion for children. I am going to be doing a course in order to start my own business called top tots (It is a franchise) . They empower parents, practice fine motor skill development, dancing, singing and getting the parents more involved with their children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for? 1 year
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Work as a private chef (so if I am needed to assist for private functions), going to restaurants with friends, being outdoors and active.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?To see them grow and to watch them achieve milestones. To see them happy, my favorite thing is to hear a child laugh!
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Physical - park, beach, cycling, swimming Education - puzzles, drawing, building Excursions - aquarium, science centres, gardens, theme parks and allowing children to play on their own, allowing them to develop their imagination.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?CPR is critical, take the child to the nearest hospital, inform the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Have not experience such an incident. But the best way to handle it, is to be calm and collected and show that you are in control.
What is your approach to discipline?I have a very strong outlook on discipline and feel it is one of the most important things to teach a child. Manners are as well as respect are important to me. I would never hit a child though.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Make them aware that you do not like their behaviour and that they need to tell you what is wrong. I would sit with them, until they calm down.  If it does not stop, they are to sit in a naughty corner for 1 to 2 minutes.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Make them aware that you do not accept their behaviour, confiscate the pencils and assist them with cleaning the wall. If this is not done they must sit in the naughty corner for 3/4 minutes.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Make them aware that you are disappointed that they have not done their work. Try make it fun or different for them - like doing it outside or teaching their favourite teddy bear what they are doing in school! Otherwise, write the teacher a letter to say that the child does not want to do his or her homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?1 years - 4 years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Adheera Bodasing. And still have good personal relationships with the ones I have worked for.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a honest and trustworthy person. I am fun loving and enjoy being outdoors. Family and friends are very important to me. I love living in Cape Town and feel blessed to be living here.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFrom fruit salad to eggs Benedict
LunchFrom a simple sandwich or salad to 3 course ladies lunch
DinnerFrom Macaroni cheese to a 5 course dinner for 2 or a dinner party
SnackFruit kebabs to perfect cucumber and mint sandwiches
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Home style is my favourite.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are a very close family. I have one brother who is 7 years younger than I am, I am very productive and he has just started at Stellies, doing Forestry! Which is my parents family business. My mom and dad live in Natal and own two forestry businesses. We also have one cat, Little Ging, who travels a lot. I have one gran who I see when I go home, she is a very active old lady and I have learnt a lot from her. I have family in Australia, who I see every 2/3 years.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.