Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lesley-Anne

Personal Details

Reference # 201-25281
Name Lesley-Anne
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st), Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes (serviced: 2011)
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Kia Picanto (light blue)
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedReversed into a car but was not serious
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
Matric - Point High, Mossel Bay - 2007
Tertiary Education

Scuba and First Aid Instructor

Pastry Chef. Current student at Capsicum Culinary studio- Hot kitchen and Advanced Management.

First aid TrainingYes (2010)

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving3 months 2009. started doing frail care
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?20 babies in the room and I had about 5 at a time to  look 8 months- 2 years old
What were your duties?Nappy changing, supervising lunch and bottle feeding. Stimulation. Depending on the activities for the day. Painting/drawing/story-time/outdoor play
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2 years from 2006-2007. Monday - Friday and sometimes on weekends. They moved away for a year and then I went overseas
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 children. 5 , 8, 13 girls
What were your duties?Walk to school and fetch them from school and sometimes take them. Did homework, took to extra murals. In charge on bath time and getting ready for bed. did lunch as well. Domestic did supper.
  

Reference 3:

&n

Areas & Availability

Areas

MOSSEL BAY

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been caring for children professionally since 2008.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved in childcare when I was very young. I had to babysit my younger cousins on numerous occasions. I then decided to turn it into a part-time job while I was still at school, for extra pocket money, and looked after two families´ children. I worked in London as a nursery assistant, where my duty was to monitor their personal growth and take care of their personal needs. I came back from London and started doing au pair work in Cape Town, while studying.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?8 months old (nursery)
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I go hiking, scuba diving, eat out at various patisserie s, as I am studying to become a chef and I go to the beach.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?You get to be a child for a few hours a day. It brings out my creative side. I get to showcase my very bad drawing and painting skills :) I love seeing the every day growth in children.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love taking children to the beach, looking for interesting shells and sea life if the rock pools. I draw and paint with them. I teach them how to bake and cook.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I will keep my phone on me at all times. Dependant on the situation; I would call for help and then call the parents. If it is a situation I could handle, like possible CPR or first aid, I would start that as soon as possible.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?General fights between siblings and friends. A 6 year old developed an attitude from her friend and it was difficult to handle the situation when there were other parents watching and she was rolling her eyes and I had to explain and enforce boundaries.
What is your approach to discipline?It is dependant on what the parent´s approach is to discipline and how they would like for me to discipline their children. I would have to explain to her that I am an adult and that she needs to listen to me and that she knows that I am trying to help her. It really depends on the child's personality.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Ask parents how to handle. Find out why they are throwing a tantrum and if it's over something silly then I would maybe give time out.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would avoid it happening in the first place. If it does happen, I would take the crayons away and discipline the child in the appropriate manner. I would teach the child that walls are not the right place for drawings.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try to get behind the reason why he/she is refusing to do homework. If for instance it is because he wants to watch TV, I would take away TV time until the homework has been done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age group
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Steven (au pair for the 13 year old)
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am kind hearted, trustworthy and reliable. I can be really loud and silly,but I sometimes tend to be more on the quiet side. I am a lot of fun, but am strict with parents rules, I abide by their rules strictly.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs on toast
LunchSpaghetti bolognaise
DinnerFish, steamed vegetables and potatoes
SnackYoghurt and honey, Fruit and yoghurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My dad is 47. He is very sporty and does mountain biking and trail running. He has a very kind heart and always tries his best to help anyone with a problem. He has a very relaxed personality. He has a wonderful sense of humour. My mom is very loud and has a laugh that will have you laughing in seconds. She is very kind and always worries about the well being of her family and friends. My sister is just like my mother. She loves to socialise. She is a sucker for animals! My brother and myself are quite similar. He is very funny and very social.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.