Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lesego

Personal Details

Reference # 201-25225
Name Lesego
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Sesotho (2nd), Setswana and IsiZulu

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Tazz 2005
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2006

Education

Secondary Education
Bracken High School in Alberton - 2003.
Tertiary Education

Yes, JSE Equity Trader Certificate - 2009,

Programming (C++) and Computer Concepts - 2010.

English Language Teaching Certificate - 2012

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started in November 2009- November 2010, end of Programme
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 2 children, Ben and Helen Snyder both 9 years old
What were your duties?This was a live-in position, at 7am in the mornings I had to wake up the kids. I then prepared their lunches for them (they would tell me what they wanted, I then did their laundry and made sure that their beds are made up. We then ate breakfast and they were allowed to watch a little TV or just relax until the school bus came to pick them up. I sometimes had to drive them, While they were at school, I did light housework and studied. At 15:30 in the afternoons the bus would drop them off back from school, or I would pick them up from activities. I prepared snacks for them for the afternoon, When home they would calm down and settle down, then do homework and reading, they were not allowed to watch TV in the afternoons. Their mom got home at 17:00, I would prepare dinner, walk the dog and then it was the mom's time. I got along with them very well and we became apart of each others lives, we are still in contact.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started there in 2007 - Current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I look after 2 children, they were 1 and a half (girl) and 6 years (boy) old when I started.
What were your duties?I mostly worked with the boy (Cole) and more over weekends. The mom was there, but I assisted him and played with him. On Saturdays we would decide what we would like to do like drive out to somewhere and play or painting at home etc. On Sundays we would play and swim and then go on to reading, work on his homework and go through what he has learned during the week. He has ADHD child. If they needed me more I would help her out during the week sometimes as well. The Grandmother is usually there for the girl, so I looked after her when the grandmother was not there,  I would entertain her and create activities with her as well and constantly had to keep my eye on her. I really enjoy working with this family and we get along very well.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI started in 2008 - current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I tutored 1 boy, he was 6 years old when I started.
What were your duties?I tutored him in English reading skills when needed. He also has ADHD and he is dyslectic.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2012-December 2013. I have returned to South Africa to continue my studies through Unisa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I worked with children from Grade 1 to Grade 8. I also worked as a private English tutor with children aged from 10- 13
What were your duties?I was a public school teacher and tutor. I worked with all primary school grades teaching English.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have childcare experience since 2008.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started firstly because of the love of children and always doing it for my family members. I then started to work to a single parent household on weekends and it also helped me to fund my travel. That was when I joined Au-Pair in America and again worked with a single parent household.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was 1 and a half years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do a lot of non profit work. I consider myself a philanthropist and an idealist.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The fact that you have the ability to shape a persons character and they will do the same to others. Its a butterfly effect. Children are so pure and honest... adults should strive to be more like them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Physical and sporting especially soccer, swimming and being at the park (which is more stressful in some ways because of the amount of attention and caution you have to pay because of safety) - I also enjoy board games (my child-like side always shows) -going to markets and amusement parks (children like to see you happy too... it creates a level of comfort and they open up to you when they see you open up)
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?1. Calm down ( I must be calm in order to think of my plan of action) 2. Always call emergency (police, ambulance etc) 3. Apply the knowledge that I have 4. Notify the parents
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Emotional- the children I took care of in the US were adopted in Vietnam... They were at an age they are starting to understand their situation, they had questions and emotions they had to deal with. When you love children you start to empathize with them... and it takes an emotional strain on you especially when you are not qualified to deal with such issues
What is your approach to discipline?No smacking, It is very important to FOLLOW-THROUGH. For every wrong action there is a consequence, if for example you threaten to take away 30 minutes of TV time, always follow through. Children constantly test their boundaries. You need to set them and follow through to reinforce them . As difficult as it may be, you need to think with your head and not your heart.If you are disciplined yourself they will listen to you.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would be calm... the younger ones do not respond to threats and barely know consequences. Always keep calm and firm tone, but never yell. When they have settled down- I am a firm believer in time out.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Time out and taking away a privilege such as TV time.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?They have created a bond with material objects and friends. Therefore confiscate their TV games etc and for a reasonable time 10 days, or play dates with their friends for 10 days.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with older children from 8-12 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, on occasion I baby sit for Cheryl Rungasamy, however the kids are older and visit family members and friends over weekends and I help Cole out with school work.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I consider myself a global citizen, because I love to travel and learn about different cultures. I am an adaptable, flexible and open minded person. I am very passionate in everything I do and with that being said, I can truly call myself a professional .
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOmelettes
LunchChicken and avocado tossed salad
DinnerLasagne, salad and home made garlic bread
SnackFreshly fruit cut up, cheese and crackers and a freshly squeezed juice
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I come from a close-knit family. I have two older brothers and I am the only girl and last born. We have lived in the same house for 20 years, I went to primary school at Brackenhurst Primary and went to high school at Bracken High and have lived in Brackenhurst for 20 years. I have a strong, solid and consistent foundation. I could live anywhere in the world because I have such strong roots.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.