Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Samantha

Personal Details

Reference # 201-25213
Name Samantha
Nationality South African
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (understand)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2003 Opel Corsa Sport
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2005

Education

Secondary Education
Fish Hoek High - 2004
Tertiary Education
Therapeutic massage Therapy @ Cape Town institute of allied health studies
First aid TrainingYes, I completed a course through the National First Aid Academy 2012. ( Valid until 2015).

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started in the end May 2010 - End of October 2010, I left for personal reasons. (My mom passed away just before that, so it was hard for me.)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 2 children, 9 months and 4 years old - both females.
What were your duties?This was a live in position, I would get up at 8 am in the mornings, prepare breakfast and feed the kids, I would then take the oldest to school. We then went back home and the baby napped for 2 hours. When she woke up we would play outside, I took her for walks, we went to do shopping for the family and we would pick up the oldest from school. We all then played outside, I regularly took them to the library, took them on play dates with other children, we would go to the park etc. They were not allowed to watch TV, I had to keep them entertained all the time as the mom worked from home. At 17:00 in the afternoons I started to cook dinner for the family. I also taught the little one to walk and on the last day I was there she took her first step - which was pretty cool. I did laundry for the family as well.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started in July 2005 - December 2006, I left to go study. This was during my Gap year.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I worked with small groups and big groups, their ages were between 2-13 years old.
What were your duties?Bizzy Bodies is like a Huge indoor playpen. I was mainly on the floor, making sure the children are under control, I made sure they had fun, I had to separate the age groups, do obstacle courses with them and supervised at the jumping castles. I also helped to arrange private parties and had to handle kids on a high sugar rush as well.I basically had to supervise the kids and to make sure that they did not hurt themselves as well as making their stay a wonderful experience. I also joined and played with them. I really enjoyed that, had no issues.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI started to assist her in the end of 2009, I just did the occasional baby-sitting for her, I left to go the USA.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 2 Girls, from 5 and 7 years old.
What were your duties?I had to look after them and play with them, we baked, played games, watched movies and did crafts. In the evenings I made sure they got to bed and read to them on occasions that she needed me.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have childcare experience since 2009 and baby-sitting as well over the years.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved children and have always been drawn to them, I am free spirited and young at heart that is how I relate. I have a soft, caring nature and love to care for others and that is why I feel I am very good with children. Looking after children it not a job for me, it is more of a passion.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was 9 months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love to socialize with friends and family as well as being outdoors, going to beach and being in the sun. I love skiing and massaging - I am a massage therapist, I have my own mobile massage service in my free time.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?To care for them and being that person who makes them feel safe and secure. To be their friend and mentor. Also to be there and watch them learn and grow and being part of it. Looking after kids is fun for me and I enjoy every moment.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?When it is summer I love to be outdoors, I would take them to the park, the beach, going for walks or simply just playing outside. On those colder days, I like to play games indoors, take them on play dates, to bake or take them to the movies.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Firstly I would make sure that I have the guardians or parents contact details at hand as well as the closest hospital and the contact number. Also if I am able to jump in and help I would do so.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have never really encountered a difficult situation, except a child throwing a huge tantrum. Firstly I never raise my voice as it makes it worse. I simply bend down to their level, talk to them calmly and tell them that what they are doing is not right and just throw in a joke or a funny face just to make myself look silly and it works. It takes their minds of of why they were crying or screaming in the first place.
What is your approach to discipline?Discipline is always a good thing and I feel that children need to know the difference between right and wrong. Everyone has a different approach on discipline. If the children are young, you put them on a time-out, where they sit in a quiet place where they can think about what they have done. I will also approach the parents on the situation and if they feel more discipline is needed. Also to let the child know that what they have done is wrong and what the circumstances are.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Not to shout or raise your voice, but to talk to them calmly and to also just be stern. Young children act out and throw tantrums for no reason, once I have told them to stop crying, I would distract them by saying come lets go play or bake, but if you want to keep crying, you can stay here and I will go on my own. So it is good to always say thing to them that will distract them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would simply take whatever they were using away from them and tell them that what they were doing is wrong. I would tell them that they can not draw or colour in for the rest of the day since they don't know how to use it. I would also tell the parents what happened.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would simply say that if you don't finish your homework you can't go and play. I would also offer that when they are done we can do something fun.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from 1-10 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a fun, loving and caring person. I am also very family orientated, free spirited and young at heart. I can always adapt to any environment that I am put in and love working with people. I can get on with anyone I meet and I am very friendly. I definitely have motherly instincts. I am very trustworthy and reliable and always willing to give a extra hand to help others.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastSmoothies, yoghurt, cereal
LunchSandwich, fruit
DinnerMeat with vegetables
SnackFruit, yoghurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, unless it is alive!
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are very family orientated and love to be in each others company. I have grown up with two lovely parents who have been nothing but loving and caring towards their children. They are truly an inspiration to me and my role models. Unfortunately my mom passed away from cancer 3 years ago which was a huge change in my family, I automatically felt I needed to be the glue she was to my family. Fortunately I have older brothers, so we could look after ourselves. It made me realise that no matter how old you are you will always need that love and guidance from your parents as well as guidance. To me family is everything.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.