Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jenna

Personal Details

Reference # 201-25169
Name Jenna
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) and Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, Regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Tracer, 2000 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2006

Education

Secondary Education
Swartland High, Malmesbury - 2005.
Tertiary Eduction

College of Cape Town - Level 5 Higher Certificate in Early Childhood Development - 2011

College of Cape Town - BEd Foundation Phase - registration 25 March 2012

First aid TrainingYes, completed through College of Cape Town in 2011. (valid until 2013)

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI worked there every Thursday, from February - November 2011 )It was part of my practical work.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I worked with 2-3 year olds and 4-5 year olds and 5-6 year olds (Grade R)
What were your duties?I worked there from 8-12 every Thursday, practical teaching. I had to present an activity like morning ring, creative art, sand play or movement ring. My duties were to observe and assist the teacher and to interact with the children. The children were collected at 12h00. I enjoyed it, I clicked immediately with the teacher and the kids adored me. I taught them new songs that I learned overseas.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingEvery Friday, Feb - Nov 2011
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 classes, 4-6 and 2-3 year olds.
What were your duties?Daycare centre, I would observe her working and interact with the subjects.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingSummer of August - October 2006
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Every week we had a different age groups, 6- 12 year olds.
What were your duties?Camp counsellor, I had to take care of a group, supervise lunch, dinner, supervise activities, games and I was a guide for them, I had to make sure they had fun all the time. I loved it and got along with everyone. I met great people.
  

Reference 4:

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingMay - July 2006
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Every week different, 6 - 12 year old girls. Groups of 12.
Period and reason for leaving2009, I was based in Ireland, then headed back home to pursue studies. And the family moved back to South Africa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Joshua (age now: 13), Caleb (age now: 11), Hannah (age now: 6), Sarah & Leah (age now: 3)
What were your duties?I assisted mom of five with minding twin baby girls as from 4months, bathed them, fed them, put them down for naps, changed dippers etc. When babies were down napping, I would assist with the other three beautiful children.
  

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2012 - current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Mia (age now: 4) Joseph (age now:11 months)
What were your duties?Babysit Mia and baby Joseph when mom & dad needs a break. I bath, feed, play & put them down to sleep. Mia requires a bed time story and Joseph a warm milk bottle. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have childcare experience since 2006
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Through looking after family and friends and I decided to study Foundation Phase, because I used to do workshops at a local workshop with children. I love children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I cared for was 8 months old.
  
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?My hobbies are camping, traveling, going to the beach, doing fun stuff and spending time with family.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I think it would be making a difference - no greater joy, to love them and to make them feel special.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Outdoor games like ball games, as well as board games etc.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the extent, always remain calm, contact emergency services and the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?At the Summer camp I worked at in the USA. We had a challenge course to climb and a overweight 8 year old girl could not do it and freaked out. I assisted her and helped her get through it and assured her.
What is your approach to discipline?It all depends on the child. I believe not to smack children, I would give time-out depending on the extent. It also depends on how the parents feel. I think one should have good communication. I would teach them to apologize when wrong and make them aware that they are wrong.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?2 Year old children have a will of their own. I would try to calm them down or ignore them until it passes and try to distract them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would let him know it is wrong and give him a cloth to clean it, he has to apologize.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try to be convincing, explaining how it will benefit them in the long run, talk to them and assist them where I can.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with any age groups, but would prefer to work with children from from 8 months and up to 10 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am fun, patient, caring, funky, very kind, loving, very calm and I never get stressed.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, fruit and yoghurt, scrambled eggs, toast peanut butter and jam. Water
LunchYummy sandwich, pancakes, soup, noodles, pasta, potato bakes. Fruit salad.
DinnerStew, lasagne, frikkadelle
SnackFruit, yoghurt, muffins, flap jacks, cupcakes
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am one of a twin, I have a twin sister, we are 5 children. I have a older sister, older brother, younger brother and a twin sister. We are very close. My mom is a child minder and my dad has his own business. We are Christians and have good morals.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.