Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Caryn

Personal Details

Reference # 201-25117
Name Caryn
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (Fluent)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Fiat Palio, 2003
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Secondary Education
Rhodes High School - 2008
Tertiary Education
Cape College - Level 5 certificate in Early Childhood Development - 2011
First aid TrainingYes, I have completed a course through Cape College, it expires in 2013.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started in 2008 - June 2011.I babysat Mrs Meyers son for 3 years whenever she needed me during the week or weekends. I stopped working for the family in June last year as studies became too much. I still have a great relationship with the family and often call to check up on Gregan.I had to focus on my studies.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 1 boy, 6 years of age, started looking after him at the age of 4 years old.
What were your duties?I would assist them in the evenings and over weekends.I did indoor and outdoor activities with him - indoor activities being- baking, painting, drawing, playing board games. Outdoor activities- taking Gregan to the park, playing sports, water play. Also prepared light meals for Gregan from time to time.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI worked as a student teacher at Crayons Educare Centre for 1year. It was part of my Early Childhood Development course which was for 1year, my reason for leaving was that I completed my course. I had to go there once a week for a year
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I worked with children from the age of 2- 6 years. Boys and girls.
What were your duties?My duties differed from class to class. With age 2- 4 years it was mostly free play, indoor and outdoor activities with a set weekly and daily plan. From ages 4-6 I integrated numeracy, literacy and life-skills and made up fun activities each week for the children to partake in and not make it feel like "school work" my day to day duties consisted of: painting, drawing, baking, making my own educational games and introducing it, making my own books and allowed each child to make their own. As well as many other imaginative yet educational activities.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI started in 2009 - 2011, I had to focus on my studies and she got a full time nanny.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 1 girl, she was 2 years old when I started.
What were your duties?I did occasional baby-sitting for them whenever needed. I would do activities with her, feed her, put her to sleep etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have childcare experience since 2008.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Growing up I always had this inner passion for children and loved playing with them. At the age of 16 I started out being a Sunday school teacher. From then my love for younger children grew and I knew that this was the career I would like to go into. I then started doing voluntary work looking after younger family members as well as family friends children. In 2007 I started babysitting for a family outside my own family and since then I haven´t stopped. In 2011 I completed a course in Early Childhood Development. I believe that children need the right love, care and support to build up their self confidence and to become the best they can be.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was 8 months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love spending time with family members and friends, I love cooking and baking, I run and swim in my spare time.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love seeing them develop from a baby who is fully dependent on their parents, to a child who is independent and sponges everything life has to offer. I love how pure and open children are, and how just a simple work or laugh can brighten up my world :)
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love educational activities as well as fun activities. I believe that children learn through doing, so playing outside, getting dirty every now and then, simple things such as kicking a ball or playing on the jungle gym has a huge impact on the child's development. I also love baking with the children, allowing them to get sticky and to feel proud of the end result. I also believe children should use their imaginations to draw, paint, tell a story and so on.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would contact the emergency services or parents immediately, and inform them about the emergency. If I have knowledge about what to do in that situation I would use my initiative, with permission from the parents first.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I haven´t encountered any serious situations while caring for a child.
What is your approach to discipline?I think children should be reprimanded when they are wrong. I also think that the parent should do their part when it comes to disciplining their own children, so that it makes the job of an au pair or babysitter so much easier. Disciplining a child should not be confused with punishment. I believe that we need to build a special bond and trust with each child we are working with so that the child feels safe and is allowed to be open (in a respectful way) it is necessary not to be too open and let the child cross that line of respect.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would go down to his/her level on my knees, and calm him/ her down. Once the child has calmed down a bit I would talk in a soft voice and explain in simple terms why for example he/she cannot go to the park that day, I would look the child in the eye and that child will then imitate my soft and calm voice. Once the child has stopped throwing a tantrum I will make suggestions or ask the child questions as to what other day he/she would like to go to the park. In that way the child would have a sense of happiness because he/ she gets to decide what day they would like to go the park.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Reprimand the child. Make him/her understand why its wrong to do that, ask if he is she understands? And then have him/her wash it off the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would ask the child what his/ her reason is for refusing to do homework, once I have listened I would sit down and explain to the child why it is important for us to do our homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from the age of 1- 12 years old. Simply because these are the ages I have experience with.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as a fun, soft hearted person, I enjoy being with friends and socializing, but the other side of me loves sitting in my room or in the park reading and having "me" time. I love smiling and laughing and I love surrounding myself with happy positive people.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, yoghurt, fruit, juice
LunchSandwich, juice/water, fruit. OR crackers, snack bar, fruit, juice
DinnerGrilled fish or chicken with vegetables or salad.
SnackFruit, snack bars, crackers, vita snack
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am the youngest of 3 girls. Both of my sisters have been married for 4years. I come from a very ordinary yet hard working family where my parents always pushed us to achieve our goals we set for ourselves. My mom is 52 years of age, my dad is 55 years. We are a close family who love each other.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.