Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Patunia

Personal Details

Reference # 201-24925
Name Patunia
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Basic Afrikaans and Sepedi

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Blue Chevy spark L, 2010
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2011

Education

Secondary Education
Radley college - 2009.
Tertiary Education
Level 3 BTEC Environment and Management course overseas. - 2010
First aid TrainingYes, I have completed a First Aid Level 2 certificate through St John's (expiring in 2013)

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started January 2010 - August 2010, 6 months, I went traveling in central America.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 1 boy, he was 2 years old when I started.
What were your duties?The mother works from home, so I only assisted while she was working. I would get there in the mornings and make him his breakfast, we then watched his favourite TV program - Cbeebies, after that we would do creative things like paint, draw or play dough. We then watched Cbeebies again and went to play in his room. I would make lunch and he then took his afternoon nap and I left at 4. I really enjoyed it, never had any issues.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started in January 2012 - Current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I am looking after 2 children, 13 and 16 years old. Girl and Boy.
What were your duties?I pick them up from school in the afternoons and take them home. They are both very active, I would take them to soccer, arts projects and back home I would assist them with homework. I also do shopping for them when needed . I really enjoy it and love this family, we have a really good relationship.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingThis was only a temporary position for 6 months.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, he was 8 years old when I started.
What were your duties?I had to do lifting for him from school and drop him off at home when needed.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have started with childcare in 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Its good part time work and I love children. I started with part time baby-sitting and then started Au-Pairing and I went overseas and volunteered there at a Bilingual School as well.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was 2 years old
  
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like doing Art, Latin American dancing, reading, going out with friends and scuba diving
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?They are fun and loving, I hope to inspire them and help them reach their potential
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I find Art and crafts to work quite well with kids, reading, taking them to museums, learning them, fun outings and games.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would assess the situation if it’s something I can’t solve call the emergency services then the parents and continue doing what I can
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Thankfully I haven’t had any I would just say keeping boundaries can sometimes be challenging
What is your approach to discipline?I will talk to the parents first. Enforcing the existing rules and maintaining respect and understanding

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Wait until the child calms down the explain that the behaviour is unacceptable and will not be tolerated, I would then expect an apology
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Ask them to please not do that again and to clean up the mess
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explain that homework is non-negotiable, if they need help I can assist but it has to be done regardless how long I have to wait. Take away their privileges if I have to eventually
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from 0 up to 14 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I work Sheryll in the afternoons.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am caring, organised, intelligent and fun loving. I have good manners and principles and I am committed, responsible and have a love and passion for children As I was head girl I have great leadership skills hence I have a desire to teach and educate young minds.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal/ toast/ fruit& yoghurt
LunchSandwich
DinnerRoast chicken and veg
SnackFruit/ nuts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am the only child. I live at home with my mom and we have a very close relationship.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.