Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Sunette

Personal Details

Reference # 201-24918
Name Sunette
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st) and English (fluent)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Mazda 323, 2002
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
I have completed Matric at Barberton High School in 2008.
Tertiary Education

I am a second year Occupational Therapy student - University of Pretoria

Gymnastics Leader Course certificate - SA Gymnastics Federation

First aid TrainingYes, I completed a Level 3 Indutrauma certificate of Sports Trauma (Valid until May 2012) and we will be doing Basic First Aid as a subject during my Occupational Therapy course.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFrom January 2010 - January 2011 (during my gap year - full time) and in 2011 during holidays -  current during holidays,  I moved to Pretoria to study, I still help out during holidays when I go home.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I have worked there with 18+ children in a class between the ages of 2-3 years. Male and female.
What were your duties?I would get there in the mornings and we would read them stories. They would then have their breakfast and we would do the activity of the day - painting, drawing, building blocks, singing etc. They would then play outside, wash their hands and have sleep time. After their naps they would play outside again or read stories. We also did potty training with them. I had to look after them, keep them busy with activities, give them their food, put them to sleep for an afternoon nap, change their nappies etc. I really enjoy helping out there, no issues with anyone.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingOn/ Off Baby-sitting occasionally during 2010.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two children, a girl 2 years old and a boy 4 years old.
What were your duties?I looked after the children during the evenings when the parents had functions. I also went away with the family for a weekend once to look after the children.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria North
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started childcare since 2010 during my gap year.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I took a gap year and went to work at the nursery school in my free time and really enjoyed it. I am interested in babysitting because I have done it before. I baby-sat some of the children who were in the nursery school where I worked. I would also like to earn extra money while I am studying.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for were 2-3 years old.
  
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like to jog and to be active. I enjoy the outdoors, reading, listen to music, spending time with friends and family. I do not have any other jobs at the moment.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like being part of their lives and to be able to make a difference in a positive way means allot to me.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading storybooks, colouring in and drawing, painting, playing games, building blocks and puzzles, doing fun exercises with them as well as outdoor activities, I feel it is good to have a balance between the two.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would call an emergency number for assistance, I would use my first aid knowledge and phone the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?One of the girls in my class fell on the tiles and hit her chin on the floor. She had to get stitches. I cleaned the wound and closed it up, phone her mother to take her to the doctor. I stayed calm and did what I needed to do in order to help her.
What is your approach to discipline?It depends on the parents. It is important for me to respect their way of discipline. I want to encourage positive behaviour and treat each child with love and respect.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I will stay calm and talk to the child, explaining the situation or distract them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will talk to the child and explain to them that it is not appropriate to draw on a wall but that they can draw on paper or colour in. This is part of the learning process.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will explain the importance of doing homework and I will think of a fun activity that we can do if he/she finish it so that they would be motivated.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from 2 - 11 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would say that I am a fun, loving person with allot of patience. I am outgoing and enjoy making the people smile around me.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs, bacon, cereals
LunchSandwiches
DinnerCooked meals, pasta, vegetables
SnackFruit salads, pro-vita´s
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are a very close family. My father and stepmother lives in Barberton. I have an older brother who is a teacher, he studied psychology. My mother lives in the Western Cape. I love spending time with them.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.