Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Marcellina

Personal Details

Reference # 201-24903
Name Marcellina
Nationality South African
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (1st), Zulu (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have your own vehicle?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year & model)Ford Laser Tonic 2000
Do you have seatbelts all round?
Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?
No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?
2006

Education

Secondary Education
Damelin - 2003
Terrtiary Education

Bcom Marketing and Business Management Degree at Damelin - 2010

I have a teaching certificate in English and Business English

References:

Reference 1:

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving 2009-current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Girl, 15 years old (Downsindrome) 
What were your duties?General childcare, entertaining, feeding, playing, homework and projects.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am            

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm        
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am        

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?
I have 18 years on and off child care experience with family or friends.
Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with,if any? I have completed my Bcom Marketing and Business management Degree. An English and Business English Course through the University of the Witwatersrand and various computer based courses
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always been involved with children. I arrived back from abroad, completed a teaching course and changed careers.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?1 year old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Personal study and self development Ministry work, reading, movies, fitness and travel.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The reward of seeing them grow up to be mature and responsible toddlers, teens or young adults. The joy derived from being a part of a child's development is indescribable.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Homework and projects, then fun activities. Outdoor activities and educational stimulation.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the situation, I would deal with it myself or I would call the emergency services (ambulance).
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Teaching lessons, it is at time very heartbreaking to be firm. A boy was about 3 when he learned a important lesson about sharing. Being an only child, sharing did not come naturally as it does when there is more than one child at home. We were watching a movie and he had some sweets, my brother and I asked for some and he promptly replied 'no'. We did not care much for sweets, but felt it was time for him to learn the importance of sharing. The next day, we bough a huge bag of sweets and chocolates, sat in front of the TV and enjoyed them (aloud). Not long after the sweets were open, he came running over and asked to have some sweets. After replying 'No' and explained if he does not share, other people won't share with him. Needless to say after that day , he became very sharing.
What is your approach to discipline?
It is important not to compromise. But, at the same time, I would not be dogmatic or rigid. Sometimes when the child is really sorry, it is best to be reasonable and lighten the discipline.

How would you handle:

 
 
A two year old having a tantrum?
Toddlers experiment to see how far they can push limits, you need to be firm and consistent. Trying to talk at that moment won't work, so I would send the child to their room and quietly tell them that when they felt better they can come out and we could discuss the matter and why their behaviour was unacceptable. Or, once they calmed down I would go into the room and discuss the same.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?
I would reason with them, the child clearly enjoys drawing, so I would encourage the child to draw, but show them more appropriate places and provide the tools or I would ask the parents to get 'wall writing' crayons that are easy to remove.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?
I would reason with them as follows - if today's homework is not done, then tomorrow's would be double. I would also remove privileges such as TV / games.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?
1 Year old and up.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?
Yes, both
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, not yet - those will come after marriage.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am fun, energetic,enthusiastic, passionate, determined, motivated, objective driven and stern in a loving way. (I could continue......)
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)
Yes
Breakfast
Fruit, cereal, yoghurt, juice / water
Lunch
Sandwich, pasta, salad (tuna / chicken)
DinnerChicken, fish or beef, roast veggies and potatoes.
Snack
Veggie sticks, crackers and cheese / tuna, Avocado and toast.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?
No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?My loving, kind and very supportive mother is retired, and trying to rest - she finds it difficult to do after working for so many years :) My older brother named Marco is very talented in various areas (including being able to cook better than I can) however, he chose to be qualified in electronics and sound.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.