Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Phoebe

Personal Details

Reference # 201-24803
Name Phoebe
Nationality South Africa
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) and Afrikaans (Fluent), Understand Dutch

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly services, recently bought
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)1993 VW Citi golf
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
I completed Matric at Montagu High School - 2007
Tertiary Education
After High School I decided to go touring in the Netherlands. The family I stayed with there sent me for a Dutch course. I then came back to SA and went to USA, it is  mandatory to take courses there so I did a Drawing course as well as a Maths course, because I want to go to University this year. I also did some French at the alliance francaise in DC.
First aid Trainingyes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started working there in Nov 2009- Nov 2010. The family desperately needed an Au-Pair for a year. They did not really want an Au-Pair and did not want to commit to anything permanent after the year was over .My year contract had ended with them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two Girls ages 4 and 6 years old.
What were your duties?This was a live in position. I would help the children to get ready for school in the mornings, I dropped them off at day care and kindergarten. I would then pick them up again and took them to recreational activities. I also took them to play dates, cooked dinner for them, put them to bed some nights, did their laundry ect. I had an amazing relationship with them, we stayed in touch and I spent a Christmas with them after I left. They are like my American family.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started November 2010 - November 2011, I left because my visa expired so I had to return to SA
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Boys, 2 and 4 years old
What were your duties?This was a live in position. I would get them ready in the mornings and dropped them off at daycare. I would pick them up again, took them to the Park, to museums, Central park etc. I went to Israel with them for a month, I found it very daring because I was in charge of them in a foreign country, the parents were working there. The kids was difficult in the beginning, but in the end we got along. I am still in contact with them.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI started in March 2008 - March 2009, I went back to SA
Number of children,age and gender of the c

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?3 years, professional Au-Pairing and I am also a child minder on set at the moment.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I decided to take a gap year after high school. I love children and really wanted to travel. So I started Au pairing.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?I have cared for a 2 year old before.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I freelance in the film industry in Cape Town where I am also a child minder. I love exercising, reading, drawing, watching movies and swimming.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love being around children and being a positive roll in their lives.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I am usually guided by what the kids would want to do and I will then improvise.Arts and crafts, puzzles, reading, playing sports with them and watching movies.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would make sure that the child was out of imminent danger. Then I would call whomever was best suited to deal with the situation.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Ha-ha I looked after a 4 year old boy and he once spit in my face at the zoo. It was after a long day and many warnings, so I packed him up in the car and went home. After explaining to him that that was unacceptable behaviour ect
What is your approach to discipline?I like to explain things to kids as best I can. I like to ask the parents how they deal with discipline and how they would like me to handle sticky situations. Usually everyone favours time-outs, as do I.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?The two year old I was looking after usually threw tantrums when he was tired. So I would take him/her somewhere quiet to calm down. Distraction is also a quick fix at that age.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would ask him/her why they were doing it and if they were aware that one should not do so. Then I´d get them to clean it up with me.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would offer to help, pointing out that it´s always better getting it over and done with and then we will do something fun afterwards!
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I enjoy working from 4-10 years old. I won't mind working with babies, I do not have much experience though.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, only as a child minder on set - free lancing.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an active person and love working with people, especially children. I adore animals and nature. I love reading, watching movies, drawing, biking, swimming and spending time with family and friends.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs and toast
LunchSandwiches :)
DinnerPasta
SnackFruit, nuts, raisins ect
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Not really, I am a vegetarian, and have been my whole life. I should not be trusted with complicated meat dishes. I have cooked easy and simple meat dishes before though.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My dad lives in Cape Town, my mom lives in Montagu, my sister lives with me and my brother lives in Vredehoek. My parents are divorced.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.