Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Megan

Personal Details

Reference # 201-24693
Name Megan
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (Understand)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Corsa Sport 1.6i 2000
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Secondary Education
Springfield Convent - 2009
Tertiary Education

Third year - UNISA - BA degree, studying psychology and criminology.

1 year course in Interior Decorating -2012

First aid Training

First Aid Level 3 course completed with EMT at the beginning of May 2013.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFrom Jan 2010- present.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I look after 3 boys, they were 16, 14, 10 years old when I started.
What were your duties?I usually pick them up from school, take them to doctor's appointments or the dentist. I then drop them home. They have a domestic there as well who cooks for them. I make sure they do their homework and that they are safe. When their parents go away, I look after them as well, do grocery shopping etc. I have known them very long and we get along very well.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have almost 2 years experience, professionally.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Our family friends needed help with their kids. I have always loved being around children, so au pairing and babysitting comes naturally. Loving children also helped me decide to study child psychology.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I cared for was 10 years old.
  
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am very family oriented, so I spend most of my free time at home. I am currently au pairing for a family in the afternoons, so would love a babysitting job in the evening
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love the way kids are, generally always happy and life to them is so simple.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?It will depend on what the child would like to do, maybe they prefer playing outside etc.Arts and crafts, board games, ball games etc.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Make sure to have the necessary phone numbers for whatever emergency, call the necessary people and if a serious emergency occurs with child, take him to the nearest hospital.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I haven´t experienced any extreme cases of difficulty. The only example I could give would be trying to get the youngest boy to bed/do his home work. I find it best to sit with him and do the homework together and when it comes to bed time, making regular check ups to his room and forbidding him to play his computer game the next day for an hour or so seemed to help.
What is your approach to discipline?It would depend on the age of the child.If a child does not listen, take away something of theirs. For example, not letting them watch TV/play computer games. And when they do something as soon as you ask them to or even without asking them to, you should always reward. I believe in positive discipline rather than negative.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Remove them from the situation and make sure the child does not harm himself.Make sure to know exactly what it is they are upset about. Explain to them that nothing will be fixed by screaming and try to compromise with them so that everyone comes out a winner.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Ask them why they think it is appropriate to draw on the wall when they can draw in a colouring book or piece of paper. Explain that it is damaging something that is not rightfully theirs and help them to clean it off the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Do the homework together and then reward them with extra TV time or game time or a cupcake.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from 0 - 18 years old. I do not have a preference.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I still work for Lana in the afternoons.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No children
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very family oriented, good with children, kind, helpful, organised and a little bossy at times.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled/poached/fried/boiled egg with toast and bacon
LunchSandwiches, wraps
DinnerRoast chicken with salad/veg and couscous
SnackFruit, biscuits or cupcake
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents are still together, I have a younger brother (18) and we all live together in a happy household

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.