Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nikki

Personal Details

Reference # 201-24675
Name Nikki
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st),Afrikaans (Fluent)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, bought recently and regularly serviced.
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2007 Hyundai Atos
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?
2009

Education

Secondary Education
Parel Vallei High School, Somerset West - 2008
Tertiary Education
I am studying at Unisa, in process of studying Bachelors in Education ECD and Foundation Phase. 
First aid TrainingYes, but has expired, I need to renew it. I am planning to renew it soon.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started there in 2009 and I still baby-sit for them occasionally. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I look after 2 Girls, 1 and 4 years old when I started.
What were your duties?I would get there in the mornings at about 7am. I would then make the little one breakfast and the parents would take the older one to school. We would then do some arts and crafts, I would take her down the road to the park and we had playgroups with other children who came over. I would then make her lunch and put her to sleep. The parents then came home at about 15:00. The position also involved light cleaning and cooking meals. The little one had to be fully potty trained before she could go to a school, so I had to train her during November to December.I never had issues with potty training, it was quite easy with her and I gave her positive praise.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started in October 2010 - June 2011. I was only temporary assigned and I then got a opportunity to go to Canada to Au-Pair when my contract ended with them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I tutored 4 children in a class, 7/8 years old.
What were your duties?I tutored for a Grade 2 class, teaching the children numeracy, literacy and life skills. Also wrote articles of the school for the news paper.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2011 - Current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I look after 2 Girls, 2 and 4 years old.
What were your duties?I get there in the mornings and I would drop the oldest one off at school. I would then prepare breakfast for the little one and do activities with her. We would then pick up the older one from school and take her home.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingIn 2010 for 4 months on and off baby-sitting
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 1 girl 5 months old.
What were your duties?Baby-sitting while mom was out or running errands. Prepare bottles, change her nappies and put her to sleep.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm        
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?
I have 7 years childcare experience , 3 years in Au-Pairing and the rest is baby-sitting.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Children have always taken to me, so I baby-sat for my mom's friends and I enjoyed it. I am interested because I enjoy working with children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?I have cared for a 5 month old baby before.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am studying in my spare time, I also enjoy reading, cooking and baking. I coach netball and I Au-Pair in the mornings 3 times a week.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I have a passion to teach children, I like the fact that I can play a part in helping them with their future.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I like doing things like Arts and crafts, reading stories, swimming, going to the park or duck pond. All activities can turn out to be educational.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Asses how bad the situation is. If it involves medication I will phone the parents. If life threatening, call the child's doctor or emergency services, then call the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When the parents don't discipline their child. I had a mother once who just laughed when the child hurt the other child or screamed at her. I found that it was not my place when the mother was around, but when I was alone, I gave them time-out and reprimand the child.
What is your approach to discipline?I don't believe in smacking a child. I would give them time-out or take away privileges.Depending on the child's age. I will normally put them in a naughty corner or chair for time-out. When time is done, I would go to the child and explain what they did wrong and want them to say sorry to me or who they hurt and then give them a hug.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Ignore the behaviour initially until the child calms down, telling them I will talk to them once they are calm. Once they are calm, I will address the situation.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If it is a first time offense, tell them that it is not allowed and if they do it again they will have time-out. Give them a cloth to clean the wall.If they do it again, give them time-out.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explain the importance of doing homework. Find a technique that will work best for that child and do that during homework sessions. Whether it is learning with pictures or doing maths in a game form. I would make homework time relaxed and not stressed out.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I would prefer working with children from 7 years up to high school , but can work with younger children too.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Johann De Kock, I baby-sit for them as well as for Talia in the mornings.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am pretty strict when it comes to discipline, I feel manners are very important, but I enjoy having fun and teaching children new things. I am caring and kind. I like working with children rather than adults.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastPorridge with some fruit.
LunchSandwich with cheese and ham or peanut butter or Bovril with some fruit.
DinnerA protein like fish, meat or chicken, a starch like rice or potato and veggies like carrots and peas or pumpkin.
SnackFruit, biltong, popcorn ( depending on the child's age)
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am comfortable with basic cooking, but I am always up for a challenge.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have 3 younger siblings, a sister aged 19 and 2 brothers aged 12 and 6 years old. My mom runs a home for mentally challenged adults and my dad is unemployed as he is suffered a brain haemorrhage from a spider bite a few years ago.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.