Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nicola Joan

Personal Details

Reference # 201-24278
Name Nicola Joan
Nationality South Afriican
Age 42
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, (1st)Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Citi Golf, 2009
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2001

Education

Secondary Education
Parel Vallei (Somerset West) -1995
Tertiary Education

Educare Diploma N4,N5,N6 (Herlderberg college) -1996-1999 ( 18 months theory and 18 months practical)

Reflexology course. ( Health and beauty therapy institute)( healing hands)

First aid TrainingI did a CPR course in February 2011.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2007 until present.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?The oldest is a girl age 6 and a boy age 3.
What were your duties? I babysit for her on a weekly basis. I will bath them, read , serve dinner and put them to bed. If I assist over a weekend I would take them on outings or do fun creative activities together as well. Amelia and I get on well, we have never had issues. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2006 - December 2006. He started full day creche and I was no longer required.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, 3 months old.
What were your duties?I had to look after him 3 or 4 mornings a week. I cooked and cleaned. I cleaned bottles, made bottles, fed him, entertained him, went on outings with him, changed his diapers etc. I enjoyed working for the family. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI have been assisting the family since 2003 and I am still assisting now. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls, the oldest was 6 months old when I started and the second child was born about 4 years ago.
What were your duties?I assist occasionally over weekends. I normally go for about 3 to 4 hours, I ensure they have eaten, we will play together. We do a lot of baking, reading, play dough or painting, in summer it is more outdoor play. I met Mary Ann through an agency.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingOctober 2007 - March 2011.The relationship became pressured as Lisa started working from home and I became more like a domestic as she spent time with the children and I did more domestic duties. The position became less and less enjoyable and I eventually gave notice and left.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, a boy age 7 months when I started and a girl, born in October 2009.
What were your duties?I used to go in 3 times a week when I started, I would go in in the morning. I would take the boy to the park and we would play. I changed diapers and fed him etc. Then I fractured my foot and it took 3 months to heal. She hired another nanny at this point. It was very bad timing as she had just had her other child. The other au pair worked in the mornings when I returned and I worked the afternoon shift daily. At this point she decided to start working from home. She took over a lot of activities that I would normally do and I was left with cleaning and cooking. I felt more like a domestic. We got on well but I am an au pair and feel that the focus of my work should be the care of the children.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time
Negotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?15 years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved children and had an interest in childcare, and once I left school, I did an Educare course. It was a natural choice for me. I love working with children. It's my passion.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?4 months.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like reading,going to the movies,spending time with family and friends,exercising,and practising reflexology.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like spending time with children,I enjoy all ages. I especially enjoy working with the little ones. They are so special and its fun spending time with them. I enjoy teaching them all kinds of things and learning from them!
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy playing games,doing art activities,teaching them new things,baking,just playing too,like dress-up and "make-believe".
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depends on the emergency,if its basic injury I would apply first aid that is necessary and if its serious I would call an ambulance and start CPR.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A toddler with a high fever who I had to monitor for long periods,medicate and who eventually had to be taken to the hospital by his mother.
What is your approach to discipline?Depending on what the parents approach to discipline is, I believe in routine and that children need lots of love, but what the parents approach is, I would stick to.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would take into account first why child's having tantrum,is the child hungry,tired etc, if its a certain toy he is fighting over, maybe take it away,depends on the situation.I would try and talk to the child and explain to him/her.Sometimes they just need to be left alone for a bit(supervised),or depending on situation need to be taken away from the specific place.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Depending on what the parents allow.I personally would explain that you don't really draw on walls and would give them lots of paper,colouring books and whatever else is available to draw on and be creative!
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would talk to the child and try and find out why they don't want to do it,find out what is the problem,make it fun,use different approaches until they are happy and eager to carry on.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?6 months to 8 years or older.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Most of the families I worked for have moved out of cape town.Two families I have babysat for the last say 6 years are: Amelia Audinwood and Maryanne Davies:0836521481
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a fun-loving,kind and patient person and try and remain positive or see the positive in things,like if its not good I will try and see the positive in it.I think I am also easily adaptable.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastToast with egg or bacon;cereal,porridge,fruit and yoghurt.
LunchSandwiches,maybe pasta,or other cooked ,meals,salad.
DinnerCooked meal like spaghetti bolognaise,macaroni cheese,meat potatoes,veggies or rice or pasta.
Snackfruit,yoghurt,dried fruit,rice cake,biscuits,raw veggies.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We´re a large family,we´re 5 children. We all get on and try and see one another as much as possible. I have 3 step sisters and a half brother, 2 blood sisters and blood brother. My mom passed away when I was 5, my dad passed away a few years later and then she remarried when I was 18. They are still together and happy. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.