Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Leandra

Personal Details

Reference # 201-24128
Name Leandra
Nationality South African
Age 37
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Afrikaans (1st) English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai i120 2013
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedI had a minor bumper-basher when reversing out of parking. I scraped a stationary bakkie.
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2005

Education

Secondary Education
High School Charlie Hofmeyer - Ceres- 2001
Tertiary Education

Degree B.diac Youth Work (UNISA) Degree(Studied at Hugenot College) - (2002-2005)

HONS B.diac Youth Work (UNISA) (Hugenot College) - (Jan 2005 - Dec 2005)

Busy with Masters PHIL Play Therapy (North West University)-(2010-2012)

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2005 - November 2007, Financial Reasons and more time to study.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?200 Children aged from 3-18 years.
What were your duties?I was in the office from 8am to 5pm. My duties were organising youth and children camps, Sunday school, counseling and other youth related duties. I also did life skills at 2 surrounding schools.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2007 - December 2011, relocating to Cape Town
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children, I started when the boy was 2 years and 3 months old (now he is 6 years and 3 months old), the girl was not born yet when I started, now she is 2 years and 9 months old.
What were your duties?When it was school holidays I worked full day with both children. During term time I worked with the little girl in the morning and both children in the afternoons. I would start at about 8am. I planned lessons for the girl and we did a lot of art and play. I would also do exercises from the Montessori books that the mom provided. Then we would pick the boy up from school. I prepared meals for them. I would teach them fine motor and gross motor skills. I also assisted the boy with homework. I was very close to the children. They would get jealous of each other and I taught them coping skills for these feelings. I loved working for the family.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2014 - 2015.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls, aged 6 and 7 years old.
What were your duties?Collecting from school, assisting with homework, and transporting the girls to extra-mural activities.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving2015 February until August 2016
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls, aged 2 and 6 years old.
What were your duties?I was a morning professional nanny to the youngest child, and cared for both children during school holidays.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been working with children professionally since 2001.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My family has always been very focused on the well-being of other people and especially children. My father is a policeman and my mother is a nurse (who became a day mother when I was born.) I grew up, surrounded by other children that my mother cared for and I think this is where I first became interested in this line of work. I have a gift for working with children, which is why I decided to study youth work and later play therapy. Being an au-pair allows me to gain practical experience in my line of work, not only caring for-, but also providing therapy for children. Au-pair is a job that allows me to pay for- and complete my studies part-time.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From newborn.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?My fiancé and I love hiking and camping. When we are at home, we like cooking and playing board games. We are relocating to Cape Town and once we have moved there, we will spend a lot of our time settling into our new home.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy seeing a child develop as time goes by and I love being part of that process. As a Christian and someone with strong moral convictions, I enjoy making a positive impact in a child´s life in their most important developmental years.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love being physically active. Climbing trees, throwing balls and running. Indoors, I love to watch them draw pictures and I like asking them about their creations. I enjoy doing most things that kids like to do, especially if I can see that they are enjoying themselves. I believe in providing a balance between creative, academic and physical play.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It would depend on the nature of the emergency, of course. If I am able to help by myself, I will do so first. If not, or once the immediate danger has passed, I will make a phone call to the correct person, it be the police, armed response, fire brigade, parents, relatives, etc. Then, I would asses the situation and decide what to do.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The family I work for and I were robbed at gun-point by two armed men in the house early one morning. We were all tied up in the bathroom whilst the two men ransacked the house. I complied with their instructions and gave them everything that they wanted. Throughout, I told the children to stay calm, not to make sudden movements and not to scream. The men left with jewellery and various other household items and did not harm any of us.
What is your approach to discipline?It is important that the parents and I are consistent and that we work according to the same rules. Otherwise, we will be working against each other. Ultimately, I would like to have such a close connection with the children that they will take my words to heart when I tell them not to do something. I feel it is always important to explain to a child why something is not allowed and not just to expect them to do something because I said so. Any kind of punishment should be dealt according to and in the context of the severity of the offence. It should be dealt immediately, so that the child understands why they are being disciplined.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Usually, it is best to ignore the tantrum so the child can see it is fruitless and they cannot get what they want in that way. On one occasion I also got down on the floor and threw a tantrum of my own, at which point the child went quiet and never threw a tantrum again.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain to him that it is naughty and he is not allowed to do it. I would make him or her help me clean the wall. I would give the child a large folio of paper to draw on instead. Even perhaps stick this folio on the wall so he can draw on it.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would not allow him or her to do what they want to do until his homework is done. I would sit behind the books until he or she changes their mind about it and joins me.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with all children and adolescents, however, I prefer to work with children under 13 years of age and love working with infants and toddlers.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, but I am in the process of moving to Cape Town, which will require me to find a new job.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, born February 2015.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a bubbly person... I laugh loudly and often. I am a bit of a tomboy, I love climbing trees and getting myself dirty outside. I don´t like it when things are too quiet. I am a people-person and my relationships with people are one of the most important and precious things in my life.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOatmeal and a fruity yoghurt
LunchFish Fingers and Mash
DinnerOxtail Stew, Rice and Pumpkin
SnackBanana, Apple, Yoghurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?My food is functional, I would not be comfortable creating a gourmet meal.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My father is a police man and my mother is a qualified nurse (who became a day mother after I was born.) They live in Wolseley, a quiet little town near Ceres in the Western Cape. I have a middle-brother who works on a farm and I have an adopted younger brother who is finishing school next year. We are a very close family and we have many friends. My parents´ house is a shelter to a couple of acquaintances who struggle to find other accommodation. My mother often looks after other people´s children. Our house is always full of people.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.